Mumsnet Logo
My feed

to access all these features

This board exists primarily for the use of Neurodiverse Mumsnetters. Others are welcome to post but please be respectful.

Neurodiverse Mumsnetters

What's your ND 'flavour'?

12 replies

AffIt · 03/02/2022 14:41

It's wonderful having this board, and I thought that it would be interesting to learn more about each other.

I am NOT a journalist, but I am an analyst in real life and I like to systemise! Grin

  1. What, if any, is your 'ND flavour' (primarily ASD / primarily ADHD / primarily dyspraxia / primarily dyslexia / multiple diagnoses / other (please state))?

2. Do you have a formal diagnosis or are you pursuing one?
3. If formally diagnosed, how old were you when you received your diagnosis and how old are you now?
4. What is your domestic set-up (married / single / how many children / childfree)?
5. What do you do for a living?
6. What do you do for fun?

Me first:

  1. Asperger's, potentially with a touch of inattentive ADHD on the side (but I haven't pursued that additional diagnosis).

2. Yes.
3. I received my diagnosis of Asperger's (my preferred term, although I know others prefer HFASD or similar) about 10 years ago. I was 33 at the time, 42 now.
4. I live with my partner of 19 years, childfree by choice.
5. I work in IT / information systems at director level for a global tech consultancy firm.
6. I read (A LOT!), I enjoy cooking, I love animals (especially cats), I like to be outdoors and walk, especially hillwalking. I also sing in a band and love performing!
OP posts:

BarrowInFurnessRailwayStation · 03/02/2022 15:28

1 - I was diagnosed with Aspergers around seven years ago then ADHD two years ago.

2 - Yes

3 - 45 for autism and 50 for adhd.

4 - Married with one older teen still at home, one young adult who moved away to work.

5 - I'm a dog walker and pet carer.

6 - Crochet, cats, countryside and hiding from people 😀


EinsteinVonBrainstorm · 03/02/2022 17:12

  1. ASD but I also prefer the name Aspergers.

2. Yes
3. 32/35
4. Married with 1 child and 1 dog.
5. Teacher who works for the council with preschool children with SEND.
6. Paddleboarding, dog walking.

ofwarren · 03/02/2022 18:16

  1. Aspergers

2. Formally diagnosed
3. Around 15 years ago. I'm now 42
4. Married with 3 children
5. I haven't worked since diagnosis. The burn out was what made me go and get diagnosed.
6. Play with my cats, watch documentaries on gardening, farming and the British countryside, look for treasures in charity shops, walking, visiting the petting zoo.

dietpepsi13 · 03/02/2022 19:58

  1. ADHD

2. I'm on the waiting list for a diagnosis
3. Still waiting for a diagnosis, I'm 38 but probably be 39 by the time I get a diagnosis
4. Single, I'm a lesbian and lost my partner 7 years ago. Hopeful of meeting someone else in time
5. Not currently working but a carer by profession
6. I love reading (esp thrillers) knitting, adult colouring books and watching detective series

ZZTopGuitarSolo · 04/02/2022 16:34

  1. ADHD, inattentive and hyperactive.

2. I got a diagnosis last year from a neuropsychologist.

3. I was and still am 52.

4. Married with 3 kids, and 1 sort-of adopted kid. 3 of them are at college and one is at home. 4 of us are diagnosed with ADHD. I also have a dog and 2 cats.

5. Freelance digital/web/graphic designer, digital marketing, all that stuff.

6. I live in New England so I do outdoor stuff like hiking, paddle boarding, canoeing in summer and autumn. In winter I hibernate, read, cook, watch TV. I do a lot of creating stuff in my day job so I don't really have any creative hobbies - more just decompressing. I also go away a fair bit - visit my kids at college, explore new places. My husband's job gives us cheap hotel rooms and he travels a lot so he always has a lot of airmails and car rental points, so we make the most of it.

amusedbush · 04/02/2022 23:17

  1. ASD, ADHD (combined presentation), dyslexia and dyspraxia. I would probably have been diagnosed with Aspergers had that still been a diagnosis today but I personally prefer that it's not, for the same reasons I dislike the high/low functioning labels. It's 100% personal preference though!

2. I have a formal diagnosis for all.

3. I was diagnosed with all of them last year at 31yo. My assessments were between August and November 2021 - it was exhausting.

4. I'm married - been with DH for ten years, married for six. We have a dog.

5. I'm currently in the second year of my PhD but wrestling with the idea of leaving academia. I've worked in universities since I was 22 and I'm not enjoying it anymore.

6. I like true crime, nostalgic TV re-watch podcasts, Animal Crossing, disassociating while scrolling through TikTok Blush

Aspergirl77 · 12/02/2022 16:02

  1. ASD high functioning (equivalent to Asperger’s).

2. I have a formal diagnosis.

3. Diagnosed early summer 2020 age 42.

4. Married, been with DH since early teens! 2 DSs (eldest also diagnosed ASD) plus 2 cats.

5. The last 15 years or so I’ve been a registrar of births, deaths and marriages but just got a promotion into management level.

6. I enjoy listening to ebooks, colouring, films/tv, walking. I do really enjoy time by myself though and I’m happy doing most things alone! Smile

bippityboppity87 · 13/02/2022 16:40

  1. ADHD and Bipolar. Possibly some autistic and dyslexic traits

2. Yes. ADHD and Bipolar diagnosed

3. Bipolar diagnosed at 31 ADHD diagnosed at 33. Will be 35 this year

4. Live with partner (not married) for 10 years. One 5yr old DS (currently been referred to a pedestrian for possible adhd and/or autism)

5. I work in a bar P/T 16 hours a week

6. Wordle, puzzle games, listening to music. Or sometimes go into a YouTube/wiki rabbit hole. True Crime and mystery programmes. Museums/Art galleries. Sleeping 😴 if that counts as a hobby haha

PangoPurrl · 19/02/2022 20:51

Hello, I hope it's ok to resurrect this!
I have traits of ASD & ADHD.
Currently pursuing ADHD diagnosis, referred about 9 months ago, I have my first appointment with a psychiatrist this week.
I've known I was different since early childhood, am now 47.
I live with my partner of 6 years and my beloved furry children. We tried for the human type, my body didn't cooperate, my cats are an amazing source of love and comfort.
I don't really make a living, but I run a creative business and it's going well so hopefully that will change soon!
More creative stuff, cat cuddling, music, animal crossing, tv- medical dramas, true crime and drag race.


Fairytoast · 19/02/2022 21:05

  1. ADHD

2. In the very beginnings of pursuing a diagnosis but not sure where to start as the light bulb has only just recently been switched on and I realise that at 49 I have had this most of my life.
4. Married for 20 years but together 32. Two dc (14 and 16) and I believe they may have ADHD too. Also have a fur son, Archie, he’s a Norfolk Terrier and truly is my best mate.
5. I am a PA for a disabled lady.
6. Love to be in nature, walking Archie, I adore animals and would love to win the lottery, escape to the country and open a rescue centre for old and wonky unloved animals. I also love daydreaming!

PangoPurrl · 19/02/2022 23:37

Opening a sanctuary for old and wonky creatures is also high on my list of aspirations for the future!


ShiftingSands21 · 20/02/2022 21:25

  1. ADHD (and OCD)

2. Yes (though contested by current psychiatrist)
3. 31 for ADHD, now 33 (diagnosed with OCD age 5)
4. Married with one DD, 3
5. Consultancy work
6. Devouring information on whatever my current interest is!
Similar threads
Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Sign up to continue reading

Mumsnet's better when you're logged in. You can customise your experience and access way more features like messaging, watch and hide threads, voting and much more.

Already signed up?