Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

To tell you about my sodding holiday so far ...

Thousandthingstosay · 24/07/2022 17:00

Stuck in holiday cottage with family in North England and these are the highlights so far

• it's raining
  • father in law in denial about brexit, everything is the fault of the French, lazy doctors, people who don't want to work. This is relevant as everywhere we go there are staff shortages etc and no service
  • mother in law being passive aggressive about meals. Complaining about cooking while complaining if anyone else attempts to cook or offers to take everyone out for a meal.
  • at least 50% of the guests regularly suck their teeth after eating
  • brother in law snores louder than he eats (which is horrendous) and is permanently red faced and boorish.
  • sister in law clearly plotting a divorce and continually asks me legal advice (not sure why as I'm not a lawyer and never divorced)
  • we have a random silent farter among us
  • DH is sozzled as a coping strategy for staying with his family and useless
  • My DD teenager glares at me while intermittently mouthing Italy, where most of her friends are apparently
  • The dog drags it's arse across the carpet
  • Many of the family cheat at the indoor games or are horridly competitive
  • The wifi is shit

It's only day 3. We leave Friday.
OP's posts:
Please
or

wtfisgoingonhere21 · 24/07/2022 17:04

Sorry op but this just cracked me up Grin

The last time we took my parents away with us it literally pissed with rain for five days,my dad put more money into the arcade machines for tickets for the kids than the whole holiday park put together,my mother wouldn't leave me alone and wanted to spend every waking moment attached at the hip.

My dads car broke down on the last day so we had to wait four hours for the aa in the pissing rain ☔️