Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

DS1 off to Uni and I'm struggling

gingina · 17/08/2018 21:03

That's it really. He's my first born and it's just hit me that he's really going. He's got his A levels and secured his place. He's so excited and I'm trying not to show it but I'm feeling devastated.
Someone give me a slap and tell me I'm a silly cow!!!

OP's posts:
Please
or

user1486076969 · 17/08/2018 21:04

He needs to spread his wings, embrace it.

Please
or

LooseHipsWobbleShips · 17/08/2018 21:13

It will be ok, honestly. Deep breaths and hang on in there. He'll make you proud xx

Please
or

Sidge · 17/08/2018 21:16

They keep coming back.

DD has finished her first year and has been home for nearly 3 months....

He’ll have a blast and you’ll be fine. Think of it as the next stage.

Please
or

OhYouBadBadKitten · 17/08/2018 22:05

I'm telling myself it's like boarding school (which I have no experience of) with fewer rules.

It is a massive change. Tonight I heard the geese getting ready to leave and thought 'all change'. We need to be brave, we've done a good job.

Start thinking about what you can do that's new for you in the autumn.

Please
or

gingina · 17/08/2018 22:39

I know you are all right and thank you so much for the replies. He goes on 16th sept so I just have to put on a brave face for a month!!
Maybe the thought of him going is worse than the reality ??? (Hopeful face!!)

OP's posts:
Please
or

annandale · 17/08/2018 22:42

Agree it shows you have done so much right. They get the fun, we just have to rock in a corner...

I have a friend whose two youngest are off this Sept. She has taken on the most horrifically huge voluntary job (think running British Athletics but a different sport) to try and distract herself. Shows how tough it is. Maybe some nice treats - trip away with partner or friend in Sept?

Please
or

PUGaLUGS · 17/08/2018 22:48

Honestly it will be fine.