Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

21 year old daughter pregnant - help please

539 replies

MacciesApplePie · 02/02/2024 21:48

I’m fairly new to this so thought I would post where there’s most traffic.
As the title said my 21 year old daughter has told me tonight that she’s pregnant. She has talked it over with her boyfriend and they would like to keep it. I said I will support her whatever
She has just started a zero hours contract as a waitress and he is self employed as a gardener.
Her dad and I don’t have huge amounts of money but we do have a flat that was left to us by his mum (shared with his brother) that is currently rented it
Could anyone please advise me where to look for any benefits they can claim, and advise if they could potentially live in the flat (we can’t afford for them to live there rent free so maybe benefits). This is a big shock to me but I want to help them all I can. Thank you :)

OP posts:

Am I being unreasonable?

487 votes. Final results.

POLL
You are being unreasonable
44%
You are NOT being unreasonable
56%
Ponoka7 · 02/02/2024 22:09

Citizens advice on the rental situation. The DWP will pay rent on a property owned by family under some circumstances. He will need to rethink his work over winter and there will be jobs available. So any other benefits depend on if they are going to live together and his income. He needs to make sure that he is paying class two NI contributions. You need to decide how much practical help you are willing to give and be straight about it. My DD had her unplanned first at eighteen. We are now ten year and two GC down the line and things have gone well.

Got2getout · 02/02/2024 22:13

Use the website ‘entitled to’ for benefits calculations.

I think they can rent from you but it must be at full market rate with a formal tenancy agreement - but double check this with Citizens Advice or your local council.

Wheresmykitten · 02/02/2024 22:18