Please or to access all these features

AIBU?

Share your dilemmas and get honest opinions from other Mumsnetters.

See all MNHQ comments on this thread

To think I have been conned!

90 replies

Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 11:12

I brought some (very cheap) Ralph Lauren clothing from a website that said it was an outlet. I paid then on my statement it shows as Beijing and I have had no shipping info (only ordered 40 hours ago). I had a confirmation email from some place called "win". Have I been stupidly conned?!

OP posts:
thekingfisher · 06/11/2015 16:18

it means that it is a Chinese originated website so unlikely to be a genuine RL website ( but that is quite obvious)

If you have paid by credit card I would speak to your provider asap

DoctorFunkenstein · 06/11/2015 16:44

Gosh there are some sarcastic and unkind people on this thread.

Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 16:55

I know !! I already felt foolish enough. No more dodgy buying for me Blush.

OP posts:
Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 16:56

Thank you chaz.

OP posts:
PegsPigs · 06/11/2015 17:01

I'm sure you already know the answer but their English is very poor on their 'About us' page so yes looks like a con

www.ralphlaurenpololine.com/-ezp-6.html

hesterton · 06/11/2015 17:13

This reply has been deleted

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 17:19

In hindsight I have been a bit naive/fucking stupid. However yes lots of bitchy people on here. Thought teenagers were bad enough with cyber bullying/ trolling was hoping they'd grow out of it, obviously not!

OP posts:
PurpleCrazyHorse · 06/11/2015 17:37

As a helpful tip for the future, I always look for a street address of the company when ordering from a site I haven't used before. Is it easy to find contact details and an address? Is it a real location? As you can see on your link, there's no easy to find address or even

Not criticising at all and definitely contact your card provider.

hollyisalovelyname · 06/11/2015 17:44

I haven't much sympathy for the OP either.
If a bargain sounds too good to be true then it probably is.
Did the OP really think she could get RL really cheap.

DingleberryDip · 06/11/2015 17:45

'Did the OP really think she could get RL really cheap.'

Well obviously she did!

Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 17:56

I don't like Ralph Lauren my daughter does. I think we have established its a scam and yes I have been stupid (as I've said!!).
I'm not asking for sympathy FFS

OP posts:
SilverOldie2 · 06/11/2015 17:57

RL polos for 18 pounds - surely no-one can seriously believe they are going to be legit?

londonrach · 06/11/2015 18:02

Op...if you near bicester village theres amazing rl outlet store there. Go early. I love the bits ive bought and i normally dont do labels but the jeans fit like a dream and from memory cost around £10-15. Im wearing my fav blue and white stripped rl polo shirt which ive washed more times than i know and one such jeans now. So comfortable!

SantasLittleMonkeyButler · 06/11/2015 18:04

Wow, just catching up with the thread. How lovely that so many of you are experts at spotting fake websites. Yes, the signs are there - but if you weren't looking for the signs many people wouldn't notice.

Some MNers must never make a mistake!

Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 18:05

Thanks London Rach I will check it out ! You can get RL for that price from outlets I have purchased real RL tshirts for DD for £15.

OP posts:
Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 18:06

Yes I got over excited went on a mad 5 minutes then thought shit! Hindsight Confused

OP posts:
ConstanceMarkYaBitch · 06/11/2015 18:06

You don't need to be looking for the signs when there are so many of them.

OP, don't be a baby. You did something stupid, people told you it was stupid. You aren't being "cyberbullied" ffs.

Fiona4545 · 06/11/2015 18:11

I'm not being a baby. Your very patronising , I made a mistake your all over it like a fucking nest of vipers. I don't often buy online think I'll stick with shopping in store from now on!

OP posts:
RedF0x · 06/11/2015 18:12

I don't think the OP was that foolish. I've had a look on the real RL site, I got a lovely top on the real site recently and it was reduced from 90 to 40. The site doesn't look obviously fraudster to me in any way.

SantasLittleMonkeyButler · 06/11/2015 18:12

Maybe you need to accept that not everyone is quite as internet savvy as yourself Constance.

ConstanceMarkYaBitch · 06/11/2015 18:14

Again, its not about being savvy.

It's aibu, what were you expecting? An aw shucks hun, dem nasty scammers, hugz?

ReginaBlitz · 06/11/2015 18:22

Clearly at those stupidly cheap prices you should have done some research but it's done now.Constance you truly got owned with your grammar sarcasmBlush

anotherbloomingusername · 06/11/2015 18:29

A thread being started in AIBU doesn't entitle anyone to be disrespectful or rude. If you wouldn't speak to your colleagues that way, then why do it to a stranger on the internet?

RussianDolls · 06/11/2015 18:45

Very appropriate user name Constance.

RussianDolls · 06/11/2015 18:47

OP. Don't worry. Just be careful next time and ignore the perfect posters who obviously have never made a mistake in their lives.