Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

I ‘section’ people under the MHA

Narwhalelife · 13/07/2022 22:26

I am an Approved Mental Health Professional (AMHP). It is only AMHP’s that can section people.
Little is known about us and our role but lots of people know what ‘sectioned’ means - Ask me anything 😊

OP's posts:
Please
or

AlphaAlpha · 13/07/2022 22:29

The police can invoke a s136.

Please
or

Narwhalelife · 13/07/2022 22:30

@AlphaAlpha yes police can arrest under a.136, lasts 24 hours

OP's posts:
Please
or

babysteps22 · 13/07/2022 22:31

I'm a gp and I've sectioned people (s2) admitted not for bloody ages as I can see 20 people in the time it takes so usually leave it to the s12 dr

Please
or

Narwhalelife · 13/07/2022 22:35

@babysteps22 as a GP you won’t have ‘sectioned’ anyone - you will have made a recommendation for admission under s.2

OP's posts:
Please
or

Riggsisadino · 13/07/2022 22:36

An amhp is the only person to be able to put people on 'proper' (there is a better word from it I promise and the OP will of course along and tell you !!) like a s2 or s3. 5:2 and 136 can be placed these are used to take people to places of safety (or remain) these trigger a mental health act assement where you see an amhp (and 2 docs) to possibly so on a further section ie 2.

Please
or

ElephantGrey101 · 13/07/2022 22:37

What is your professional background? How big a part of your job is sectioning people?

Please
or

babysteps22 · 13/07/2022 22:37

Narwhalelife · 13/07/2022 22:35

@babysteps22 as a GP you won’t have ‘sectioned’ anyone - you will have made a recommendation for admission under s.2

That's right, section 2.

Please
or

Narwhalelife · 13/07/2022 22:37

@Riggsisadino pretty much - an AMHP is the only person who can detain a person under the mental health act, are you in mental health?

OP's posts:
Please
or

KL2222 · 13/07/2022 22:39