Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Baby gaining too much weight?!

TheseAreMyGoodPants · 06/08/2022 08:06

Hi all.

My boy is six weeks old and exclusively breastfed. He weighed 6lbs 12oz at birth (born at 37 weeks). He had his six week HV check yesterday and he weighs 12lbs 10oz. So yes, he's piled it on but I was happy with this!

My HV insinuated I was overfeeding him and should only feed him when he's showing hunger cues (which I already do!).
She also mentioned him being at increased risk of obesity ect. Basically making me feel like I'm doing something wrong πŸ˜” He's never had formula or a bottle.

He was also off the chart for length so to me that means he's just a big boy as opposed to overweight as he's in proportion. This is my first time breastfeeding and I thought it was going well but now I feel like I'm doing something wrong. He's a perfectly healthy, happy, content baby. Already smiling and holding his head up. He goes 2-3 hours between feeds in the day and 3-4 hours at
night so it's not like I'm feeding him constantly!

Is my HV just talking b*llocks? πŸ˜‚

OP's posts:
Please
or

tinkertailor2 · 06/08/2022 08:09

She is! It's impossible to overfeed a breastfed baby. Keep following the cues and your instincts.
My hugely chubby babies are now skinny lanky kids.

Please
or

dementedpixie · 06/08/2022 08:10

Yes she's talking rubbish
You can't puy a tiny baby on a diet

Please
or

tinkertailor2 · 06/08/2022 08:10

...just to add my DS was also off the chart for height and weight. He was permanently attached to my boobs! It's totally normal. You're doing a brilliant job.

Please
or

Applegreenb · 06/08/2022 08:15