Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

What are your child's favourite comics and why? Tell us for a chance to win an annual subscription to The Beano PLUS Freaky and Fearless books!
100

SorchaMumsnet · 07/09/2016 16:35

The FREAKY comic world collides with three FEARLESS kids in an explosion of fun, action, laughs and adventure!

Simon Moss aka Mossy loves action comics and wishes he was brave enough to star in one. His best friend Whippet is also a fanatic - especially for the really freaky ones. The boys have their own powers as gifted storyteller (Mossy) and artist (Whippet) - and together they find themselves thrown into an adventure straight out of a comic book.

But it's up to the world's coolest girl, craftiest inventor and smallest explorer - Lucy Shufflebottom - to kick the boys into gear. Can they track down the mysterious beast that has kidnapped Mossy's younger sister?

Freaky and Fearless by Robin Etherington is a magical, hilarious adventure packed with fun illustrations - perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Dork Diaries.

What is your child’s favourite comic book(s) - and why? Tell us to be in with chance of winning Freaky and Fearless books 1 and 2 PLUS a year's subscription to The Beano!

This discussion is sponsored by Piccadilly Press and will end on 5 October

Books T&Cs apply

What are your child's favourite comics and why? Tell us for a chance to win an annual subscription to The Beano PLUS Freaky and Fearless books!
OP's posts:
Please
or
to access all these features

TrollTheRespawnJeremy · 07/09/2016 19:46

DD loves the My Little Pony comics as she is pony mad. This is her first foray into comics so far. I remember enjoying the Beano and Dandy as a child so would love to encourage her to do the same!

Please
or
to access all these features

fantasticfive · 09/09/2016 06:29

My son likes the Disney comics expecially the brightly coloured pictures.

Please
or
to access all these features

DramaInPyjamas · 09/09/2016 06:53

We love The Beano in this house. I remember getting when I was a girl as well, and it's still as funny. We all sit and snigger over it!

DS likes to buy Doctor Who comics now and again with his pocket money.

DD doesn't have another favourite really, nothing seems to catch her eye other than The Beano. I was telling her a few weeks ago about Twinkle magazine I used to get and we've been on the search for something similar.

And it's not a exactly comic, more a magazine/newspaper but we also sometimes get The Week Junior. A weekly round up of the news and events from around the world.

Please
or
to access all these features

glenka · 09/09/2016 07:29

The Beano because it is full of mischievous characters.

Please
or
to access all these features

Narnianescape · 09/09/2016 08:30

My daughter loves the The Dandy for the variety of comics in it especially Desperate Dan

Please
or
to access all these features

CopperPan · 09/09/2016 09:53

DSs have loved the Lego Bionicle comic and Simpsons. DD loves Angelina Ballerina as she loves to dance.

Please
or
to access all these features

Martha2000 · 09/09/2016 10:01

My kids LOVE the Beano and the Phoenix - both delivered weekly, and they literally couldn't survive without them. The Beano for its daftness and jokes and the Phoenix for its madly imaginative stories. There are also tons of great spin off books from Phoenix stories which are also brilliant ... I do find it funny seeing them read the Beano in particular - it really doesn't seem to have changed that much since I read it as a kid. So many of the same characters and stories. I remember obsessively drawing pics of Minnie the Minx, and now my daughter is doing the same!

Please
or
to access all these features

katiefish · 09/09/2016 10:14

we love the horrible histories comic

Please
or
to access all these features

SharonfromEON · 09/09/2016 10:17

My DS only ever really gets the beano and he does love it..MY reason I refuse to pay £5 for the plastic tat on the front..

I wish more magazines were reasonably priced...When you can buy a book cheaper than a comic it is madness.

Please
or
to access all these features

BellaWella86 · 09/09/2016 10:24

My daughter LOVES Beano. She loves the mix of characters and her favourite is Gnasher.

Please
or
to access all these features

BearAusten · 09/09/2016 10:24

Currently, it would have to be The Simpsons. One or two in his year group read these comics and watch the series on tv.

Please
or
to access all these features

firawla · 09/09/2016 10:27

Mine like the Lego magazines (nexo Knights etc) or for comic strip type books like they Pokemon, or some superhero ones

Please
or
to access all these features

FeelingSmurfy · 09/09/2016 10:34

Horrible histories

Beano, I got them in to that though because I used to read the beano and my grandad still has old beano annuals that were my dad's when he was younger! I used to read those when I was younger and now they do Smile three generations reading the same books

Please
or
to access all these features

funkyfish586 · 09/09/2016 10:53

My son loves how it works magazine as he is obsessed with science and how things work

Please
or
to access all these features

Annieg1234 · 09/09/2016 11:01

my niece absolutely loves Beano, she was thrilled to bits recently to find some old comics at a car boot sale. A timeless classic :)

Please
or
to access all these features

freefan · 09/09/2016 12:44

My lad loves the Beano, he used to read the Dandy as well but Dennis the Menace is his favourite.

Please
or
to access all these features

namechangingagainagain · 09/09/2016 12:50

Ds9 LOVES the beano. His fave character is probably Minnie the minx but he loves it all. We have it delivered every week (a great Christmas present idea) and he does a little dance when he sees it on the doormat.
In fact when he grows up he would like to be a beano artist.... He realises he will have to work up through the ranks and hopes to initially get a job either as the office cleaner or the person who adds on the sound effects onto the cartoons. :)

Please
or
to access all these features

WowOoo · 09/09/2016 12:56

My youngest son changes his mind according to what free gift is on the cover, if you mean magazines.
It was Angry Birds recently because he wanted the slingshot. He used his own pocket money!
I think the hardback annuals are better value and last longer. I bought Beano last Christmas and he still looks through it.

Please
or
to access all these features

JesusDontWantMeForASunbeam · 09/09/2016 12:57

DS loves the Beano and the Denis the menace books as a result. He hates reading, his ADHD means it's a struggle to concentrate but comics are ideal.

DS2 likes Thomas or cbeebies. DD likes whatever has the best toy!

Please
or
to access all these features

rachelmi · 09/09/2016 15:47

The Beano is always great to share and have a giggle !

Please
or
to access all these features

lozzle77 · 09/09/2016 18:08

my sons favourite comc is the beano i think it may be because i followed my grans tradition as she always bought me the annual at christmas i get my son it too and worryingly at the age of 39 i still read it

Please
or
to access all these features

Cagliostro · 09/09/2016 18:13

DD loves manga but she's 9 and I find it hard to get stuff that is definitely not too old for her. She has dabbled in Avengers etc as well, she loves Iron Man.

DS is 7 and he likes Transformers stuff, and also recently we unearthed some old Avatar (as in the last airbender not the blue people!) comic books and he absolutely devoured them, it's really got him reading more.

Please
or
to access all these features

Cagliostro · 09/09/2016 18:13

Meant to say DD got into manga because she loves anime, stuff like Ghibli movies and the odd series.

Please
or
to access all these features

ricola1 · 09/09/2016 20:24

Beano because they never grow old

Please
or
to access all these features

Mum2mischiefs · 09/09/2016 20:37

My DS (10) loves the Beano - he was introduced to it through the 1976 annual which was given to me and my sister when we were little by the boy who lived at the end of our street! He has been hooked ever since.

Please
or
to access all these features
Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Sign up to continue reading

Mumsnet's better when you're logged in. You can customise your experience and access way more features like messaging, watch and hide threads, voting and much more.

Already signed up?