Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

What are your child's favourite comics and why? Tell us for a chance to win an annual subscription to The Beano PLUS Freaky and Fearless books!

100 replies

SorchaMumsnet · 07/09/2016 16:35

The FREAKY comic world collides with three FEARLESS kids in an explosion of fun, action, laughs and adventure!

Simon Moss aka Mossy loves action comics and wishes he was brave enough to star in one. His best friend Whippet is also a fanatic - especially for the really freaky ones. The boys have their own powers as gifted storyteller (Mossy) and artist (Whippet) - and together they find themselves thrown into an adventure straight out of a comic book.

But it's up to the world's coolest girl, craftiest inventor and smallest explorer - Lucy Shufflebottom - to kick the boys into gear. Can they track down the mysterious beast that has kidnapped Mossy's younger sister?

Freaky and Fearless by Robin Etherington is a magical, hilarious adventure packed with fun illustrations - perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Dork Diaries.

What is your child’s favourite comic book(s) - and why? Tell us to be in with chance of winning Freaky and Fearless books 1 and 2 PLUS a year's subscription to The Beano!

This discussion is sponsored by Piccadilly Press and will end on 5 October

Books T&Cs apply

What are your child's favourite comics and why? Tell us for a chance to win an annual subscription to The Beano PLUS Freaky and Fearless books!
OP's posts:
Please
or
to access all these features

cornflakegirl · 09/09/2016 20:46

Both my boys (7 and 11) love the Beano. We don't often buy the magazine, although we did as a treat before our holiday. But we have quite a few annuals - they love finding them in the charity shop. They both say their favourite character is Dennis the Menace. They also love the Simpsons, Garfield and Calvin and Hobbes (my personal favourite). Comics are working really well for getting DS2 into reading for pleasure - he's still a bit resistant to chapter books, but will often be found reading a comic book.

Please
or
to access all these features

RootTeeToot · 09/09/2016 20:50

My dd loves Archie which my dh also loved as a child. She's not a great reader so I think that reading Archie has been lovely for her as she can enjoy a story without too much reading. She is always discussing it with me and I have to pretend I know all the characters.

She's just been introduced to Beano as she chose it herself when we were going on s train journey and she laughed out loud.

Please
or
to access all these features

melonpanini · 10/09/2016 00:03

My daughter loves the Lego magazines because she's Lego crazy.

Please
or
to access all these features

jamielmdjs · 10/09/2016 10:40

The beano is a classic that has been passed down to them. They also love spiderman.

Please
or
to access all these features

feefeegabor · 10/09/2016 17:10

My daughter loved the Jacqueline Wilson magazine - she always loved the Tracy Beaker books!

Please
or
to access all these features

badgermum · 11/09/2016 12:53

My 10 year old regularly reads Beano, the simpsons or Toxic or Epic magazine if it's school holidays and he's out with me I usually let him choose one and he'll generally go for one with minecraft or lego feature on the front cover. Often I'll pick up a Beano for him when doing the weekly shop as a treat as he enjoys reading the most. He first got into The Beano at school when the class was given a big pile of old copies to read for literacy

Please
or
to access all these features

ahigney · 12/09/2016 15:43

My son's favourite comic are Marvels. He loves superheroes and his favourite is Hulk!

Please
or
to access all these features

kateandme · 12/09/2016 17:07

horrible histories is right up there

Please
or
to access all these features

StillNoFuckingEyeDeer · 12/09/2016 19:57

I've just introduced DD1 to the Beano and she thought it was great.
She enjoys the comic strip stories in the Lego magazine too, when she can convince someone to buy it for her.

Please
or
to access all these features

GrouchingTiggerHiddenSomething · 12/09/2016 20:15

My two both love the Beano - and so did I when I was a child (I was a member of the Dennis fan club!) They have devoured my old collection of Beano comic libraries which I told them to be very careful with (20p!!) Actually I have a feeling I might have some of my old Beano collection in the attic - will have to go and have a look next time we're stuck inside on a rainy day!

Please
or
to access all these features

agnapoop · 12/09/2016 22:26

My daughters love Sparkle and Cute magazine. They love the princess themes.

Please
or
to access all these features

buckley1983 · 12/09/2016 22:47

My son loves the Thomas the Tank engine magazine - the cost is pretty eye-watering but he will pore over each page quite happily & we enjoy the stories together :)
I'm looking forward to getting him into the Beano! My brother & I loved it when we were younger & it was one of the rare occasions when we would share something with no arguments! I remember having fights over who got the free gift on the front though!!

Please
or
to access all these features

searchingforcalm · 13/09/2016 10:37

My son loves the Lego and Ninjago magazines but often just chooses a magazine depending on the free gift on the cover. He likes Superhero annuals too and we've been thinking for a while that we should get him some comics like The Beano, which I myself enjoyed as a child!

Please
or
to access all these features

Saltlake · 13/09/2016 16:43

Beano. DC1 loves this. I think it is a combination of the slapstick humour and the style of the stories. It barely lasts half an hour.

Please
or
to access all these features

pinkunicornsarefluffy · 13/09/2016 17:11

DD buys My Little Pony every month as she loves MLP. She loves the free gifts too.

Please
or
to access all these features

TheOnlyLivingBoyInNewCross · 13/09/2016 17:18

DS is 13 and has read the Beano for years. He is a voracious reader who devours a whole range of books, and his favourite genre is dystopian fiction. But when he is tired or blue or it's the weekend or the summer holiday or he just wants to curl up on the sofa and be young again, the Beanos come out. He buys it every week and they are squirrelled all over the house.

I might be the only person who has ever had to orchestrate the purchase of the Beano from abroad as we were in the Greek Islands when the 75th anniversary edition came out...Hmm Grin

Please
or
to access all these features

asuwere · 13/09/2016 17:40

DS likes the Beano. They also have a bunch of marvel comics which they are currently working their way through. I think DS1 likes comics as he likes pictures but feels he's too old for picture books :)

Please
or
to access all these features

Jasonandyawegunorts · 13/09/2016 18:14

My daughter loves the The Dandy for the variety of comics in it especially Desperate Dan

They haven't printed it for a few years now.

Beano because they never grow old
It's strongly hinted the current Dennis the Menace is the 80's Dennis's son.

Please
or
to access all these features

nocutsnobuttsnococonuts · 13/09/2016 18:19

My daughter loves her beano comics we have picked up at carboots, they are read almost daily and safely tucked in bed with her at night. Starting to look a little ropey now!

They have given her the confidence boost she needed to start reading independently. She finds them hilarious and is often reading out sections to me and her younger sister.

Please
or
to access all these features

Flisspaps · 13/09/2016 18:40

Whizz Pop Bang - she wants to be a scientist.

Please
or
to access all these features

forkhandles4candles · 13/09/2016 19:08

My DC adore the Beano. They have been reading it and the annuals for years. What is also nice is that they read DHs old ones from the 1980s. They love the anarchic humour, the wordplay and the naughtiness.

Please
or
to access all these features

allthingsred · 13/09/2016 20:26

My ds loves beano especially Dennis the menace.
Dennis gives hm ideas on practical jokes to play on the rest of us & for Xmas he has asked for a dog like gnasher (santa might have to leave that request for a few years!!)

Please
or
to access all these features

Bicnod · 13/09/2016 20:33

DS1(7) loves the Beano... He writes and illustrates his own Dennis stories and told me today his ambition is to be the beano editor!

DS2 (5) goes for whichever magazine has the best free gift... Usually Lego Ninjago.

DD (1.5) had a twirlywoos magazine the other day. Mainly because I felt guilty that I never buy her anything new...

Please
or
to access all these features

EdmundSlackbladder · 13/09/2016 20:39

DS 5 and DH love the Beano. DHs Grandmother still buys him the annual every Christmas. DS and I love Tiny Titans.

Please
or
to access all these features

anotherdayanothersquabble · 13/09/2016 20:45

My children absolutely love The Phoenix Comic. (Probably not going to win us the competition!!))

It has arrived in our house every week for the past five years and all three children who are now 12, 10 and 7, read it religiously and fight over it. They check the post for several days before it arrives. (We live abroad so it doesn't always arrive on the same day.)

My son once said, 'Why does it seem to take ages for the Phoenix to arrive but as soon as you start reading it, it's like you are just carrying on from the last one.' I love the way he put that feeling into words.

For me, it has no adverts and no plastic tat and the children often recount historical facts which are never things they have learned in school but things that they have learned in corpse talk, one of the comic strips.

Please
or
to access all these features
Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

We're all short on time

Log in or sign up to use the 'See Next' or 'See all' posts by the OP (Original Poster) and cut straight to the action.

Already signed up?

Sign up to continue reading

Mumsnet's better when you're logged in. You can customise your experience and access way more features like messaging, watch and hide threads, voting and much more.

Already signed up?