Please or to access all these features

AIBU?

Share your dilemmas and get honest opinions from other Mumsnetters.

AIBU to be annoyed by vegan ice cream?

152 replies

hoffa · 14/09/2026 13:47

I love ice cream. A nice creamy strawberry ice cream, or maybe a raspberry ripple, or just plain vanilla. I'm happy to pay extra for good quality ice cream.

But one thing that has irked me in recent years is the prevalence of vegan ice cream being sold just as "ice cream". This is especially true at the theatre, where little tubs are sold during the interval and no where does it say the ice cream is vegan. Its too late when you've forked over £5 for a little tub of strawberry ice cream just to find out it's vegan and tastes nothing like a proper strawberry ice cream from the same brand.

For what it's worth, I'm vegetarian and eat a lot of vegan foods. For things like sorbet obviously it's no problem, but why ice cream?

OP posts:
Ladyfromthehill · 16/09/2026 05:55

hotmumshit · 14/09/2026 13:50

Yanbu

Vegan ice cream often has coconut in - i am allergic!

Its like the vegans purposefully want me dead for my judging their food

It's like you want lactose intolerant and people with dairy allergies dead too?

Surely if you have allergies you check ingredients before eating.

hotmumshit · 16/09/2026 08:05

Ladyfromthehill · 16/09/2026 05:55

It's like you want lactose intolerant and people with dairy allergies dead too?

Surely if you have allergies you check ingredients before eating.

😩😩 what, no, thats completely different to what I am saying

SALaw · 16/09/2026 08:09

SethAndReubenTooSendGaloshes · 14/09/2026 14:06

As a vegan I have never ever found vegan ice cream being sold as the only/regular ice cream.

No but you might ask what flavours they have and be told vanilla, strawberry and mint choc chip, you choose the strawberry and then discover it is vegan.

Error404FucksNotFound · 16/09/2026 08:13

Absolutely yes if it is a vegan alternative to ice cream it should say so.
I love vegan ice cream, magnum does an almond stick that is to die for.

CasperGutman · 16/09/2026 13:29

As I mentioned previously, it seems there is no longer any mandatory requirement for "ice cream" to contain any dairy content at all! So, manufacturers don't have to use convoluted names like "vegan alternative to ice cream". They can just say it's "ice cream" if they want, and optionally mention that it's vegan as a selling point.

CasperGutman · 16/09/2026 13:37

In my view the situation since 2015 is really unfortunate. As this thread demonstrates, customers believe the term "ice cream" implies a dairy-based product even if they may be unsure of the details of the requirements.

From this article:

Products labelled as ‘dairy ice cream’ must contain at least 5% milk fat, some protein from a dairy source and no vegetable fats.

However, there are no such regulations for a product to be labelled as ‘ice cream’.

This means vegan products as well as those using cheaper products such as palm kernel oil, vegetable fats or coconut oil, can use the ice cream label.

In many cases, fresh milk is substituted with reconstituted skimmed milk powder as well as water or buttermilk powder in the case of Tesco’s vanilla ice cream.

The rules changed in 2015 with the introduction of the Food Information Regulations, before which products had to contain at least 5% dairy fat and 2.5% milk protein to be defined as ice cream.

Half of UK vanilla ice creams contain no fresh milk or cream - Farmers Weekly

Seven of the UK’s most-loved ice cream brands contain no fresh milk or cream but are legally allowed to call themselves ice cream, according to a Which?

https://www.fwi.co.uk/business/markets-and-trends/dairy-markets/half-of-uk-vanilla-ice-creams-contain-no-fresh-milk-or-cream

sunshine314 · 16/09/2026 17:06

CasperGutman · 16/09/2026 13:37

In my view the situation since 2015 is really unfortunate. As this thread demonstrates, customers believe the term "ice cream" implies a dairy-based product even if they may be unsure of the details of the requirements.

From this article:

Products labelled as ‘dairy ice cream’ must contain at least 5% milk fat, some protein from a dairy source and no vegetable fats.

However, there are no such regulations for a product to be labelled as ‘ice cream’.

This means vegan products as well as those using cheaper products such as palm kernel oil, vegetable fats or coconut oil, can use the ice cream label.

In many cases, fresh milk is substituted with reconstituted skimmed milk powder as well as water or buttermilk powder in the case of Tesco’s vanilla ice cream.

The rules changed in 2015 with the introduction of the Food Information Regulations, before which products had to contain at least 5% dairy fat and 2.5% milk protein to be defined as ice cream.

Edited

Ugh gross. Well I hope there's a backlash against the food industry, I'm not buying any more UPF crap.

Vegans think it's about them, it isn't. It's about making as much money as possible.

Ponderingwindow · 16/09/2026 17:16

Yes, it’s not about marketing to vegans. This is about getting as much junk into our food as possible.

PGmicstand · 16/09/2026 18:10

Mothrasstillmoshing · 14/09/2026 21:16

I agree with you @PGmicstand there are no where near enough different flavours 😖
Magnum made a lush vegan ice lolly with blueberry sorbet in the middle and now it's gone and I can still get a Swedish glace tub in raspberry ripple. Every week I ask the frozen dessert section "why can't I have a vegan minty Magnum"??????

I want Rum & Raisin, or Mint Choc Chip, or Raspberry Ripple, or Triple Chocolate, or Pistachio... but no.
Although I did have some salted peanut vegan ice cream recently, which was delicious.

summater · 16/09/2026 18:14

I always have to read the small print to check which of course you can't do in the cinema or theatre easily, I once bought some by mistake and it was vile, loads of sweet caramel flavouring to hide the non dairy taste

everynamewastaken · 16/09/2026 20:41

As a vegan, I can definitely assure you there is normally one or two vegan options a d the rest are dairy! I wish they were all vegan but I normally have to check the list or the pots themselves to find which option is vegan. Jude's vegan versions are lovely but I agree some of the theatres use one of the big dairy companies and their vegan options are terrible...but there's normally only a vanilla and a salted caramel from that brand in particular. If it's that bothersome you can do what I do every time and just ask which are the vegan and non-vegan options. It doesn't take long and they're normally very helpful!

Yewlez · 16/09/2026 20:47

Binnyforthewin · 14/09/2026 16:29

Even carrots and potatoes?

This reminds me of the other Christmas when my dad was being twattishly anti-vegan about all my food (which he was not being given to eat) so I took his beloved Twiglets off him and told him they were also vegan so he had better not eat them. He shut up after that.

everynamewastaken · 16/09/2026 20:58

StripyShirt · 14/09/2026 15:07

Here's the ingredients list for a vegan Magnum, courtesey of vegandigest.com. Hardly Frankenstein food, is it????

. Ingredients for the 2025 Magnum Vegan Classic: water, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, coconut fat, glucose syrup, soy protein, emulsifiers (lecithins, E471), stabilisers (locust bean gum, guar gum), exhausted vanilla bean pieces, salt, natural vanilla flavourings, colour (carotenes).

This is very helpful! A lot of authentic italian gelato is accidentally vegan...I love going to proper gelato shops! We also make an amazing cashew nut ice cream with our ninja that non-vegan friends rave about and only has a few ingredients - like any food with a shelf life most of the added ingredients in vegan and non-vegan ice cream are just for stabilisation.

Bloodysquirellls · 16/09/2026 21:05

YANBU. I actually bought a ninja creamii because I was so so fed up with the shite ice cream available.

It is fabulous!

CasperGutman · 17/09/2026 08:22

everynamewastaken · 16/09/2026 20:58

This is very helpful! A lot of authentic italian gelato is accidentally vegan...I love going to proper gelato shops! We also make an amazing cashew nut ice cream with our ninja that non-vegan friends rave about and only has a few ingredients - like any food with a shelf life most of the added ingredients in vegan and non-vegan ice cream are just for stabilisation.

You're right that a lot of proper gelato shops offer great vegan options, including traditional products like sorbets and granitas which have always been vegan. As an omnivore I often order and enjoy them. And you're also right that vegan alternatives to dairy ice cream and Italian gelato don't need to be UPF-laden Frankenfoods.

I'm slightly taken aback by the idea that "authentic" Italian gelato can be "accidentally vegan" though. From everything I've read and eaten I understand that gelato is historically a dairy milk-based iced dessert. You're hardly going to eliminate the main ingredient and replace it with something from an entirely different source "accidentally", are you?

What am I missing, please?

Nochoiceofuser · 17/09/2026 21:18

sunshine314 · 14/09/2026 14:14

I hate it OP. They sell it as "ice cream". Anything called ice CREAM should be made mostly from cream. It's prevalent in my area, I've gone into shops with an "ice cream" sign outside only to find 100% fake ice cream.

However, this is across the whole food industry. Some foods shouldn't be called "chocolate" or "chicken" either. Anyone saying it's "not a big deal" is helping the food industry sell us poison instead of food and getting massive profits from it. Of course, it's all masked as "ethical". If you are vegan, it's healthier just to avoid completely.

Edited

I'm fairly certain the word cream doesn't just apply to things containing cream made from cow's milk. You can get coconut CREAM, you CREAM together butter/sunflower spread and sugar when making a cake and you also buy antiseptic CREAM from the chemist.
Yes things should be labelled clearly what ingredients they contain but people also have the ability to ask (and anywhere selling food of any sort should have the ingredients list available either on the food packing or in a separate list for customers to check for food allergy/intolerance purposes)

Yewlez · 17/09/2026 23:14

CasperGutman · 17/09/2026 08:22

You're right that a lot of proper gelato shops offer great vegan options, including traditional products like sorbets and granitas which have always been vegan. As an omnivore I often order and enjoy them. And you're also right that vegan alternatives to dairy ice cream and Italian gelato don't need to be UPF-laden Frankenfoods.

I'm slightly taken aback by the idea that "authentic" Italian gelato can be "accidentally vegan" though. From everything I've read and eaten I understand that gelato is historically a dairy milk-based iced dessert. You're hardly going to eliminate the main ingredient and replace it with something from an entirely different source "accidentally", are you?

What am I missing, please?

Edited

Vegans use the term "accidentally vegan" to mean a product which has not been specifically designed for the vegan market, and which therefore isn't labelled as such, but it's in fact vegan. It also allows for the fact there may be cross contamination.

Gelato wasn't made dairy free for the vegan market so it is accidentally vegan.

SnoopyPajamas · 17/09/2026 23:53

StripyShirt · 14/09/2026 15:07

Here's the ingredients list for a vegan Magnum, courtesey of vegandigest.com. Hardly Frankenstein food, is it????

. Ingredients for the 2025 Magnum Vegan Classic: water, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, coconut fat, glucose syrup, soy protein, emulsifiers (lecithins, E471), stabilisers (locust bean gum, guar gum), exhausted vanilla bean pieces, salt, natural vanilla flavourings, colour (carotenes).

"exhausted vanilla bean pieces"

I might change my username to that

mbizzles · 18/09/2026 06:26

I have had this experience with vanilla ice cream, which I belatedly realised was vegan! I do agree that some vendors seem to think they are interchangeable…

superchick · 18/09/2026 06:33

DD is coeliac and we often find the only gluten free item is also vegan. She already can't eat as much whole, unprocessed foods as other people the last thing I want for her is to be eating fake dairy as well. I presume for those who can't eat dairy they also find the overlap with gluten free offerings annoying.

CasperGutman · 18/09/2026 09:36

Yewlez · 17/09/2026 23:14

Vegans use the term "accidentally vegan" to mean a product which has not been specifically designed for the vegan market, and which therefore isn't labelled as such, but it's in fact vegan. It also allows for the fact there may be cross contamination.

Gelato wasn't made dairy free for the vegan market so it is accidentally vegan.

Ah, understood. I'd disagree with the idea that a gelato-style non-dairy frozen dessert made without any milk or milk derivatives should be called "authentic italian gelato" though!

MrsAvocet · 18/09/2026 09:49

superchick · 18/09/2026 06:33

DD is coeliac and we often find the only gluten free item is also vegan. She already can't eat as much whole, unprocessed foods as other people the last thing I want for her is to be eating fake dairy as well. I presume for those who can't eat dairy they also find the overlap with gluten free offerings annoying.

Yes, my DS is allergic to multiple things including dairy but has no issue with wheat/gluten and he gets very grumpy when the only things suitable for him are also gluten free! I understand why manufacturers do it, but it's quite frustrating sometimes.

Yewlez · 18/09/2026 15:36

CasperGutman · 18/09/2026 09:36

Ah, understood. I'd disagree with the idea that a gelato-style non-dairy frozen dessert made without any milk or milk derivatives should be called "authentic italian gelato" though!

Why? Lots of authentic Italian gelato is non dairy.

aberamagold · 18/09/2026 15:41

I'd be very annoyed if I bought this crap because it was advertised as 'ice cream'. It's not ice cream.
I would expect my money back.

CasperGutman · 18/09/2026 16:10

Yewlez · 18/09/2026 15:36

Why? Lots of authentic Italian gelato is non dairy.

Thinking about it more, my issue was that I understood gelato to be basically the Italian word for ice cream. Dairy-based varieties are called gelato and fruit or nut-based frozen desserts are called sorbetto (sorbet). Italian gelato traditionally contains milk, and has been distinguished from the ice cream more typically eaten in the UK by a lower "over-run" (less incorporated air) as well as by using more (dairy) milk and less (dairy) cream resulting in a denser product with a lower melting point. In my head gelato, like ice cream, is basically a dairy-based product.

However, I think I had muddled up the ideas of "authentic" and "traditional" slightly. Traditional gelato is dairy-based, and I would still somewhat struggle with the idea of describing non dairy versions as traditional Italian gelato. But on reflection gelato just means frozen, and I suspect Italians may not have the same issue with non dairy desserts being called gelato as I do with non dairy ice cream. Italians using non dairy ingredients to make gelato may well still be making authentic Italian gelato even if it isn't traditional.

In the UK context I know legally ice cream can apparently now contain no dairy content, but I don't personally like this. Non dairy cream alternatives like Elmlea can't call themselves cream, so why can non dairy ice cream alternatives call themselves ice cream? It seems like a confusing anomaly, and the number of people on this thread who assumed ice cream had to contain dairy ingredients is ample evidence of this.

Swipe left for the next trending thread