My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

Help how to not leave a trip advisor review

18 replies

Proudofeveryone · 23/09/2022 18:29

DH and I have been to one of his sporting events.
It was a last minute decision to go.
But one of our friends has a hotel in the place it was taking place.
(Only know them through this sport have never seen this hotel before)
So we phoned last week and they had a room. It wasn't cheap.
Other hotels nearby were all booked up.
Gets in and it was awful thank goodness we were only there for 2 nights.
Only had breakfast and out all day.
As we left yesterday they asked us to put a good review on Tripadvisor.
So in their words get more of the other sports performers to come and stay.
What should we write.
The bed was a small double couldn't turn over without DH turning.
Bathroom was dirty. Hair in the shower and old toothpaste around the taps.
Carpet hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner.
One of the towels had a large hole in.
Duvet was so thin it was like a sheet.
Pillows were flat.
Breakfast was tiny.
DH had one slice of bacon, one very small sausage, half a tomato, but
lots and lots of baked beans.
I only wanted cereal and toast and all I got was one slice of toast.
I did ask for more you would have thought I'd ask for the moon.
We wouldn't want anyone else to pay good money for this place
Fortunately we won't see them until next spring but I'm sure they are
the type to ask us why we didn't leave a review if I don't.

OP posts:
mycatisannoying · 23/09/2022 18:33

How good is the friend? I'm afraid I'd be inclined to say no to the review, and be honest about the reason why!

Zebedee55 · 23/09/2022 18:34

I always just tell the truth on there. Pointless otherwise.

INeverSawAPurpleCow · 23/09/2022 18:40

I would just say you don't feel able to as your stay wasn't very comfortable. I mean, they know you and they didn't bother to make an effort!

Isaidnoalready · 23/09/2022 18:43

If you want to stay friends forget to leave the review

If you don't but still care about them send them the review

If you want the nuclear option leave the review

Aubriella · 23/09/2022 18:43

Just say you don’t have an account.

And in a few months, leave a bad review so no one else stays there.

Puzzledandpissedoff · 23/09/2022 19:08

What are the other reviews like? In other words, are they hoping you'll repair some of the damage others have already done - which from the sounds of it was deserved?

I certainly wouldn't lie for them, and if they mean a lot to you I'd just "forget" to do a review. However if they push you might need to say something like "It wasn't what we were expecting"

Yeahrepublic · 23/09/2022 19:38

Aubriella · 23/09/2022 18:43

Just say you don’t have an account.

And in a few months, leave a bad review so no one else stays there.

This is a good approach if you don't feel comfortable being honest.

Alternatively, you could send them an honest but tactful email explaining that because you are such good friends, you wouldn't leave that review but feel they need to know what the issues were with your stay.

LIZS · 23/09/2022 19:44

Did you mention any of your complaints and had them resolved? Were the hosts friendly?

girlmom21 · 23/09/2022 19:54

Don't leave a review but be completely honest about why you're not.

mondaytosunday · 23/09/2022 19:59

I don't use my own name on tripadvisor. Leave an honest review under a pseudonym.

girlmom21 · 23/09/2022 20:08

mondaytosunday · 23/09/2022 19:59

I don't use my own name on tripadvisor. Leave an honest review under a pseudonym.

If she doesn't post in her own name they'll still ask why she hasn't left a review though

Proudofeveryone · 23/09/2022 20:13

We did mention about the bathroom which admittedly was cleaned properly when we were out.
They have good and bad reviews.

OP posts:
Pinktoothbrushesarefab · 23/09/2022 20:16

Just tell the truth, that way;

a) the establishment knows where they need to improve
b) they can't sue you for badmouthing them

properdoughnut · 23/09/2022 20:22

Do you use trip advisor?

Pinktoothbrushesarefab · 23/09/2022 20:24

@properdoughnut

Do you use trip advisor?

Yes 🙂

properdoughnut · 23/09/2022 20:27

Pinktoothbrushesarefab · 23/09/2022 20:24

@properdoughnut

Do you use trip advisor?

Yes 🙂

Oh missed that in OP. Was going to say it would be easiest to just say you can't be arsed with trip advisor.

shinynewapple22 · 23/09/2022 20:34

I would just not bother to review - I never do . I doubt if they will repeatedly chase you asking you to do it .

sheepandcaravan · 23/09/2022 21:40

I would just be honest and say what you have said here, in an email, and say that every business needs friends feedback and thus you are looking forward to trying it again when they have an opportunity to improve

Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.