Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Wouldn't this be more sensible?

Dipsy12 · 05/08/2022 07:36

So I'm a bit new to the trans debate but the most I read the more confused I become.

I'd always worked on the basis your biological sex is something you just are. I.e. I'm a woman because I was born one. It's nothing to do with how I feel, it's just biological fact.

Then there's gender identity. I don't really think I have a gender identity. But some people do and want to identify as male/female/non binary etc. That seems fine to me. Happy to call them whatever name they like and use preferred pronouns etc. But obviously this doesn't change their biological sex.

The law seems to allow you to change your sex if you have gone through a formal transition procedure. Even though biologically you can't change your sex I think this is probably acceptable given its likely to be a very small group of people who it applies to and if someone is prepared to go through all of that because they feel they're in the wrong body then it's probably fair enough we recognise them as their assumed sex.

But the more I read the more this seems like a controversial view. I definitely never would have said I'm transphobic but the conflation of sex and gender seems mad to me.

OP's posts:
Please
or

SantaCarlaCalifornia · 05/08/2022 07:52

Welcome to the club.

None of it makes sense and previously sensible people have completely lost their minds to gender woo.

We're all supposed to lie about what we can plainly see and look the other way.

Everything is transphobic now anyway, so the sooner you get used to having that shouted at you for questioning anything the better.

Please
or

NecessaryScene · 05/08/2022 07:54

the conflation of sex and gender seems mad to me.

Of course it is. But it's what a lot of people want more than anything in the world. I suggest picking up Helen Joyce's Trans, which takes you through the whole history of this.