Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Books similar to Sophie Kinsella/Shopaholic series?
36

Falafellygood · 12/04/2020 15:15

I want to order some books for my mum to read as shes bored during isolation. She tends to read light hearted, easy 'chick-lit' stuff. She's gone through all of Sophie Kinsella. Any recommendations of similar books/authors? Thank you Smile

OP's posts:
Please
or
to access all these features

JiltedJohnsJulie · 12/04/2020 19:00

I’ve just started a similar thread about my DM. Has she read Eleanor Oliphant? My DM liked it but I would read some reviews first maybe Smile

Has she tried Veronica Henry too? I quite like her books. Have a look at Love on the Rocks Smile

Please
or
to access all these features

stickman12 · 12/04/2020 19:05

Dorothy Koomson books

Please
or
to access all these features

Imonlymoominafterall · 12/04/2020 19:14

Marian Keyes - any of her books are funny and well written plus great stories. Chick Lit plus.

Please
or
to access all these features

feelingchange · 12/04/2020 19:17

Lindsay kelk books are really good especially the I heart series

Please
or
to access all these features

JiltedJohnsJulie · 12/04/2020 19:23

stickman I’ve only read the Icecream Girls. I did enjoy it but when I went to look at more books by her she was described as the “Master of the Great Reveal”. I find this really find the end a great reveal in that book, I’d seen it coming a long way off.

Are her other books worth reading?

Please
or
to access all these features

peachypetite · 12/04/2020 19:23

Marian Keyes

Please
or
to access all these features

Ciwirocks · 12/04/2020 19:24

My dm likes similar books and also likes Marian Keyes and Cecilia Ahern.

Please
or
to access all these features

LouLouLoo · 12/04/2020 19:25

She’d probably enjoy reading books by Jane Green.

Please
or
to access all these features

Hunkyd0ry · 12/04/2020 19:25

Jane Mansell are very easy reading.

Please
or
to access all these features

Lightofthephoenix · 12/04/2020 19:25

Fiona Gibson

Carole Matthews

Please
or
to access all these features

Ciwirocks · 12/04/2020 19:25

Oh Maeve Binchy as well

Please
or
to access all these features

catinb0oots · 12/04/2020 19:25

I came on to say Marion Keyes

Please
or
to access all these features

catinb0oots · 12/04/2020 19:26

Sorry Marian.

Light reading but funny

Please
or
to access all these features

CheerfulBunny · 12/04/2020 19:28

Fiona Walker's books are great, funny and light hearted. Some are part of a series based around a fictional village but some stand alone.

Please
or
to access all these features

bookmum08 · 12/04/2020 19:30

Has she read Madeline Wickham's books - that is actually Sophie Kinsella too. Madeline Wickham is her real name!!

Please
or
to access all these features

AmelieTaylor · 12/04/2020 19:31

Alexandra Brown is very similar.

Eleanor Oliohant is 'odd' and not an easy read chic lit like the ones you said.

Please
or
to access all these features

Papergirl1968 · 12/04/2020 19:51

Jilted, The Ice Cream Girls isn’t the best Koomson, in fact i think it’s the weakest. Her newer stuff is better.
Hunky means Jill Mansell, I think.
Jenny Colgan or Erica James might be worth a go.
Jilly Cooper if she hasn’t read them and doesn’t mind the sex - Riders, Rivals and Polo are the best.

Please
or
to access all these features

Onebabyandamadcat · 12/04/2020 20:04

Nick Spalding "love from both sides" had me laughing out loud

Please
or
to access all these features

stickman12 · 12/04/2020 22:12

@JiltedJohnsJulie I don't like ice cream girls, i would try marsh mellows for breakfast or my best friends girl to start with

Please
or
to access all these features

BikeRunSki · 12/04/2020 22:40

Eleanor Oliphant doesn’t compare to the Shopaholic books at all. The Shopaholics are silly and lighthearted. Eleanor is about a young women fighting mental demons.

Please
or
to access all these features

purplepingu · 12/04/2020 22:45

Paige Toon

Please
or
to access all these features

TokyoSushi · 12/04/2020 22:50

Another vote for Marian Keyes

Please
or
to access all these features

endoflevelbaddy · 12/04/2020 22:53

I like the Jane Fallon ones, done a few as audio books recently and they were really easy listening.

Please
or
to access all these features

WellTidy · 12/04/2020 22:58

Marian Keyes is a master of this genre. Chick lit +++++. Absolutely brilliantly done.

Jane Green.

Please
or
to access all these features

Fueledwithfairydustandgin · 12/04/2020 23:05

Milly Johnson are very light hearted chic lit. Also another vote for Marian Keyes

Please
or
to access all these features
Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.