Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Would it be “easier” to be an English or Maths teacher?

FunRequirement · 18/10/2018 10:49

I’m about to apply to PGCE programs, and I’ve got a BA with a heavy English literature component as well as courses for an Accounting masters. I’m not very good at calculus so I would only teach up to GCSE.

I haven’t decided which to apply for, but I would really appreciate any info here.

Which job is objectively easier? Which one forces you to do more marking? I’m not sure how deep marking(?) would happen in a maths course?

Which subject is easier to get a job with? I noticed that maths gets more bursary but there seems to be more job posting for English online?

OP's posts:
Please
or

FunRequirement · 18/10/2018 10:50

Job postings*

OP's posts:
Please
or

PhilODox · 18/10/2018 10:53

Are you certain the accountancy course would be considered as a degree in a numerate discipline? I don't think you'd get on a maths pgce with that...

Please
or

thethoughtfox · 18/10/2018 10:54

I don't think you get to choose not to teach A level.

Please
or

PhilODox · 18/10/2018 10:54

Neither is an easy option- maybe go into accountancy?

Please
or

DunesOfSand · 18/10/2018 10:58

I think it would be "easier", and more interesting, to teach the subject you have more passion for.
So, for me, maths. For my mate, English. Ask us to swap, and we'd both struggle.
Does your accounting course count as maths degree? Have you actually got the MSc, or just components of it?

Please
or

FunRequirement · 18/10/2018 11:06

This is the program I’m looking at

www.edgehill.ac.uk/courses/pgce-secondary-mathematics/