My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

For beauty and fashion style advice, join in our Style forum chat.

Style & Beauty

No more Mumsy - Who fancies a Make-Over thread?

78 replies

MmeLindor. · 25/04/2012 20:35

Right. I am bored.

I wear jeans every day.

Tshirts. When going somewhere smart, a fitted shirt/blouse or something like this

I feel frumpy and boring. Partly cause I have put on so much weight, I have to admit.

So today, I turned over a new leaf. I joined a gym, had my hair cut and coloured and realised I need a new style. But I don't know what.

Something more quirky and modern.

Any ideas?

OP posts:
LittlePandaBear · 25/04/2012 20:49

Congrats on joining the gym and getting your hair done!

I'm no style expert (I'm sure one will be along shortly) but I can suggest starting with getting some new shoes/bags. It could boost your esteem having something that you can wear regardless of your weight going up and down. Some brightly coloured wedges (just pray for sun!) can make a dull outfit look more cheery!

Also, the blouse you linked to is really very very mumsy - I'm not sure that they really suit anyone. Maybe try a few new shops You're likely to find something a little more flattering and trendy in Warehouse/Oasis.

MmeLindor. · 25/04/2012 20:56

Thanks Panda.

Problem with trendy places is that they tend to go up to about a size 16. I have no hope until I lose a bit of weight.

And tbh, I don't really want Warehouse - I find them a bit boring too. I want something different. But I don't know what.

OP posts:
MmeLindor. · 25/04/2012 20:59

Like this - but that is not really very different from what you can buy in M&S, and they only go up to a L, which is certainly too small.

Not necessarily only looking for stuff for now, but for when I slim down a bit.

I have always had a clear cut, preppy kind of style. But I am BORED.

OP posts:
StyleGuile · 25/04/2012 21:13