My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Get updates on how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy by signing up to the Mumsnet Pregnancy Newsletters.

Pregnancy

22 too young?

49 replies

Halli2020 · 05/05/2020 00:07

Hi guys. I’m 22 years old, I’ll be 23 in December and ever since I was little I’ve wanted my own family. Mainly because I don’t really have a family around me for support etc. I have a large one bedroom flat with a garden which I’m currently doing up. So if I was to have a baby he or she would be able to sleep in my room and have plenty of space to play etc. I work as a care assistant and I’m currently saving to buy the baby all it’s essentials. I have a boyfriend who is very supportive and caring. We have both been thinking of having a baby. I am studying childhood studies at university in september so I’m hopefully wanting to try for a baby at the end of the year. Am I too young? It’s all I ever think about at the moment. I would just love to have a human baby to love and take care of, I have a cat but that’s just not the same lol. Any thoughts or opinions would be appreciated. I know the other side of my family won’t approve of it but really it’s my decision. Thank you:)

OP posts:
ArriettyJones · 05/05/2020 00:11

You’re starting a degree in September? I wouldn’t try to do pregnancy & newborn stages while studying.

That’s a bigger issue than age. In fact all aspects of your living/financial situation are more important than age, really.

ArriettyJones · 05/05/2020 00:12

Get your degree under your belt, finish decorating, and get a job in your chosen field, then revisit the baby issue. That would be my advice.

HeddaGarbled · 05/05/2020 00:22

I don’t think it’s too young necessarily, but I’m concerned about your motivation. It sounds a bit like you’re trying to fill something in yourself stemming from an unhappy childhood?