Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Attending court as a witness

mintiegreen · 29/06/2022 20:27

Hi all

I wondered if anyone could help me with what it's like to attend court as a witness? I've never done it before and I'll also have a newborn at the time.

I've googled but there's not a lot of detailed information.

OP's posts:
Please
or

mintiegreen · 30/06/2022 07:11

Bump

OP's posts:
Please
or

Picoloangel · 30/06/2022 07:21

There is usually someone at Court who will help you. Is it a criminal trial or something else?

Please
or

Picoloangel · 30/06/2022 07:21

Not being nosy just trying to find the best source of support.

Please
or

Mabelface · 30/06/2022 07:31

I was in a room with other witnesses away from the defendant. There were support people there who were lovely. In the end, the defendant pleaded guilty so I didn't need to go on the stand. A lot will change their plea at the last minute after hoping witnesses won't turn up!

Please
or

Picoloangel · 30/06/2022 07:38

you’ve probably seen this re criminal proceedings

Going to Court as a witness

If it’s a criminal case you’ll swear an oath on a holy book depending on your faith or affirm if you aren’t religious. You’ll then be asked questions by the lawyer for the person on whose side you’re appearing which will be designed to elicit your account of what happened. That’s called evidence in chief. You’ll then be cross examined - asked questions - by the lawyer representing the defendant- then the lawyer for the prosecution can also ask any further questions arising from that - known as re examination. If you’re giving evidence for the defence then it’s the same as above but the other way round and prosecution will cross examine.