Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Welcome to Mumsnet's holiday forum. Discuss all international travel here, including both shorthaul and longhaul trips. Related topics: UK holidays & day trips, skiing, camping & campervans.

Holidays

Lapland

34 replies

Littlesticklebrick · 03/12/2021 00:29

Hi, we’re going to Lapland in a couple of weeks. I’ve never done a cold trip before and I’m unsure of a few areas… I’ve bought base layers. What do I need on top of those before I put my snow suit on? My son has got joggers.
Also is a jumper dress ok for the travelling day? I figured I could put my thermals in a bag to put under when we arrive?
We have a package so the snow suits are given when we arrive.
Many thanks for any tips

OP posts:
Please
or

PinkPlantCase · 03/12/2021 11:41

Hi OP, haven’t been to Lapland but have spent some time in cold places.

A few things, You’ll want lots of layers, so a thermal base layer, long sleeved top, then and jumper and or fleece. Try and make sure that atleast one of the layers has a polo neck. Layers are great because it’ll probably be really warm indoors!

What shoes and socks do you have? Keeping your toes warm will be really important.

For travelling I’d probably wear a thermal vest under the dress and thermal tights, or atleast woolly tights.

Do you know how much time you’ll be spending outside?

Buffs, hats and balaclavas would probably come in handy too.

Mittons are much warmer than gloves.

Have a great time!!

Please
or

PavoReal · 05/12/2021 09:47

I am at a Lapland airport right now. No one is in a jumper dress, everyone in joggers in the main, a few in jeans. You have to walk out to the plane, it’s minus 22. It was minus 4 when we arrived and snowing, those who packed their big coat in the hold bag were frozen. You will have an amazing time!!

Please
or

Meadowbreeze · 05/12/2021 10:46