Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

How tall are your sweet peas?

Muezza · 18/06/2022 13:23

I'm getting height anxiety about my sweet peas as its my first time growing them. They're currently just under 3 feet tall, growing up a metal arch, and I've spied few buds appearing.

Will they carry on getting taller whilst flowering? I was hoping they'd get a. Bit further up the arch. I also drove past someone's garden the other day with 6ft tall sweet peas so now I am in raptures of envy!

I've been giving them tomato food about once a fortnight, should I bee feeding more often? They've been getting a good hosing every few days. Is it easy to over water or should I just go for it and give them more?

OP's posts:
Please
or

RunningFromInsanity · 18/06/2022 13:34

My established ones have just reached the top of my 6ft fence.
I planted some new ones in a hanging basket in April to grow up a drainpipe and cover it, and they are about 3ft and flowering now.

They'll likely grow taller each year.
I water the ones in the ground occasionally if it’s been very hot, and the ones in the basket maybe twice a week.

Please
or

Paranoidandroidmarvin · 18/06/2022 16:35

Oh can we do them as hanging plants then? Do they just hang down and not need support?
Im still learning about sweet peas. But mine have a few flowers on and one I thought I had lost now has seed pods. Which I know I have to wait till they are brown and crusty and then I can harvest the seeds for next year.

as to keeping them alive my garden I swear is just one day away from everything dying. So I’m no help 😂

Please
or

RunningFromInsanity · 18/06/2022 16:51

They won’t hang down but they grow up the chains of the hanging baskets which disguises them and makes it look pretty.

Please
or

MereDintofPandiculation · 18/06/2022 18:38

They'll likely grow taller each year. The sweet peas that people grow for scent are annuals

Please
or

RIPWalter · 18/06/2022 18:40