Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Anyone attempting an elaborate birthday cake?

49 replies

GlumyGloomer · 25/02/2022 08:18

I'm a decent baker, I can make cakes that taste nice. Decorating though, I'm a total novice. Somehow though I'm determined to make my kids cakes myself (poor sods, lol), so currently planning a double tier unicorn head cake, with a sprinkle coated base.
Anyone else getting overly ambitious this year? Grin

OP posts:
Please
or

PotatoGoblins · 25/02/2022 08:40

I go overly ambitious every year Grin I’m a hobby baker, and like you, they always taste great, but decorating is what I find the hardest because attention to detail isn’t my strong point.
Over the years though, with practice, I’ve got quite good! (Humble brag Blush)
Probably the most ambitious was my DS’s 3rd birthday where I baked two big, square sponges and cut those into different shapes which were then assembled into a dinosaur and covered in fondant.
Literal blood sweat and tears. I nearly lost the top of a finger.
But he loved it! And it turned out pretty well.
Good luck Op!

Please
or

Geneticsbunny · 25/02/2022 08:46

Go for it. We have been making poorly decorated home made cakes for years now and it is great fun and the kids love them. My daughter (11) has now started making her own and doesn't worry if it is a bit wonky because she remembers our previous efforts.

Please
or

MarshmallowsOnToast · 25/02/2022 08:54

I was feeling sentimental & wanted to make my Ds 1st birthday cake.

I'm no cake decorator (at all) but it actually turned out ok. Not the smoothest or straightest but was happy with it.

Might have another go for his 2nd birthday. Thinking similar tier design but chocolate with ferrero rocher 🤔

Please
or

GlumyGloomer · 25/02/2022 10:19

Thanks for the encouragement Smile
Marshmallows that looks fantastic!

OP posts:
Please
or

spottygymbag · 25/02/2022 11:40