Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Anyone attempting an elaborate birthday cake?

49 replies

GlumyGloomer · 25/02/2022 08:18

I'm a decent baker, I can make cakes that taste nice. Decorating though, I'm a total novice. Somehow though I'm determined to make my kids cakes myself (poor sods, lol), so currently planning a double tier unicorn head cake, with a sprinkle coated base.
Anyone else getting overly ambitious this year? Grin

OP posts:
Please
or

APurpleSquirrel · 29/06/2022 13:30

That looks great!
My DS actually agreed to a big themed birthday party so I didn't have to make a digger/combine harvester/Pokémon monstrosity!
I made a tree stump covered in bugs instead Grin
Everyone thought it was good but When asked the next day by his Key Worker what cake he'd had he couldn't remember! Angry

Please
or

GlumyGloomer · 29/06/2022 12:52

OK there's a million typos in that post 😅

OP posts:
Please
or

GlumyGloomer · 29/06/2022 12:50

*dd, not dad

OP posts:
Please
or

GlumyGloomer · 29/06/2022 12:49

Hi, just thought I'd update with the final twist in my cake saga.
I bought a painfully expensive (to me) unicorn cake, which was delivered the day before the party (dad's actual birthday). It looked great, but sadly the toddler came down with norovirus, so we had to cancel the party. The fancy cake was cut I to chunks and frozen. Dd decided that she didn't actually like I all that much, and wanted a cherry and almond cake like I made for Dh for her rescheduled (and much reduced) party. Dd and I also caught noro, and after serving that for a week, then scrubbing the house for the party the week after I managed to start the new cake but couldn't get it finished in time. So in the end dd had an m&s rainbow cake at her party, and a unicorn cake the day after when I finally had time. Will be sticking to supermarket cakes for future parties, at least until the kids are less clingy.

OP posts:
Please
or