Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Running - form vs intensity

BlusteryShowers · 24/08/2020 09:54

I'm a beginner runner working through C25K. Running for around ten min stints at the mo.

Almost all the advice I read tells me that I should be going at a conversational pace and to slow down if I'm getting out of breath.

My running heart rate is usually in the 180s, but if I went much slower I'd feel like I was shuffling. I am trying to keep decent form in terms of posture and cadence so as to not develop bad habits and risk injury.

I'd like to be running with a heart rate of nearer 150bpm. Is this something that will just get better with time or do I need to shuffle for a bit?

OP's posts:
Please
or

fellrunner85 · 24/08/2020 12:45

How fast are you running at the moment, in terms of mins per mile? I know you describe anything slower as a "shuffle", but definitions of a shuffle are all relative!
If you're already fairly slow (ie 10 min miles or slower) then I wouldn't worry about slowing down even more. Your heart rate will come down as you get fitter.
But if you're doing your 10-min stints at, say, 6 min mile pace, yes you do need to slow down!
Also don't overthink form at this point. That will develop as you get more experienced as a runner.

Please
or

BlusteryShowers · 24/08/2020 14:25

Thanks @fellrunner85 I'm definitely a slow coach! The last time I was running I was on around 11 minute miles however, I knew nothing about form and used to pick up shin splints all the time, get fed up then completely stop.

I'm trying to do it properly this time so that hopefully Confused when I am in a position to be running a couple of miles without stopping, my pace will naturally be better because my form is better iyswim.

I'll keep going as I am and hopefully see an improvement in my cardio!

OP's posts:
Please
or

lljkk · 24/08/2020 14:31

HR seems very high. Are you quite young or quite overweight?

Please
or