Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

What do you think of skipping as a way to keep fit?

TR888 · 25/04/2020 16:29

Hi, I’m thinking of buying a skipping rope and take up skipping. It seems like good exercise and convenient if for whatever reason I can’t go running. I have outdoor space to do it. What do you think?

Also, can anybody tell me what kind of skipping rope I need to buy, considering I am a complete beginner?

OP's posts:
Please
or

GymSloth · 25/04/2020 16:32

Sounds a great way to keep fit - isn't it what boxers do as part of their training?

No idea about which rope, sorry - but interested to see what recommendations you get!

Please
or

wildthingsinthenight · 25/04/2020 16:33

It's supposed to be a great all round exercise. Cardio and toning.
Just make sure you have a good sports bra!Grin

Please
or

BestIsWest · 25/04/2020 16:37

I was just about to post about the bra! DS has a skipping rope as he can’t go to the gym. I tried it last week and it was not as easy as I remembered. I managed 6 turns of the rope!

Please
or

BettyBooJustDoinTheDoo · 25/04/2020 16:38

It’s an intense workout so you could use it as interval training one minute skipping, 30 seconds rest type of thing, also make sure you do it properly (like a boxer) not how we skipped as children.

Please
or

LordEmsworth · 25/04/2020 16:38

There's a reason boxers skip. It is excellent training, especially for HIIT type training - gets your heart rate right up, quickly. It is also bloody hard!

Any rope will do, the fancy ones are adjustable lengths and have counters - I have a bog standard one, which is a bit too long but I know that if I wrap one end round my hand twice, it's a perfect length.

Please
or

BettyBooJustDoinTheDoo · 25/04/2020 16:42

Here you go
Please
or

fallfallfall · 25/04/2020 16:43