My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Meet others keeping chickens on our Mumsnet Chicken forum.

Chicken keepers

Anyone like to help me choose a coop?

30 replies

PuraVida · 07/02/2012 13:54

I'm still learning and doing lots of reading but I thought maybe
this one

Or may be this one

We can't afford an eglu

Would anyone be able to comment on pros and cons of these two. That would give me a much better idea of what I should be looking for in a coop

Also, we have a large concrete slab in our garden, formerly a shed base. I'd assumed they'd be better on grass but having done a bit of reading, might they be better to be on tr concrete, with regular outings around the garden when we're at home?

Thanks in advance for any help Smile

OP posts:
cobwebthegrey · 08/02/2012 00:31

Before buying a cocoon coop I would check out what juju has to say at the end of this thread

we have just spent weeks trawling though load of p
Aces and in the end decided to get one of these www.mumsnet.com/Talk/chicken_keepers/1395983-Chicken-coop-fantasies-come-and-share-yours-with-me it was, if I am honest, a LOT more than we really wanted to pay, but looking on a lot of poultry forums the message that came across was 'buy cheap buy twice.'

How many chickens are you thinking of getting?

These sites are worth checking out for highly recommended chicken houses...

www.chicken-house.co.uk/
www.forshamcottagearks.com/

cobwebthegrey · 08/02/2012 00:33

Sorry, second link should have been to here www.flytesofancy.co.uk/chickenhouses/Maggie_s_Hen_Houses.html

PuraVida · 08/02/2012 08:45

Thanks cobweb nice seen another bad review of the cocoon one too

Thing is we simply can't afford £400 or £500

I think, for us, we'd be better off buying a cheap one, parching it up to make sure it's warm and dry and if it falls apart in two years time we can buy another one and still have not spent £500