Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Get updates on how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy by signing up to the Mumsnet Pregnancy Newsletters.

Does anyone have sibling name envy?

Greenbeanmcgee · 24/06/2022 12:59

I'm an only child so I've no experience of this but a friend was complaining that her parents gave her two sisters much nicer names than hers and she'd rather have one of their names. Her name is a rather different style to the others. I wondered if anyone else wishes that they'd been given the name that a sibling was given. Is this a thing?

OP's posts:
Please
or

17caterpillars1mouse · 24/06/2022 13:05

I only have a brother so nope no name envy. Though if I'd been a boy and my parents had gone with the name they were planning I still wouldn't have name envy

Please
or

Undertheoldlindentree · 24/06/2022 13:09

No, just name envy of the alternative name my parents didn't use after having two picked out for me.

Please
or

DisforDarkChocolate · 24/06/2022 13:10

I liked my older sister's name more than mine when I was younger but not now. My brother got the short straw though.

Please
or

DotDotDotDotDot · 24/06/2022 13:15

No name envy in my family. Although my sibling and I got given equally bad 80’s names.

Please
or

zafferana · 24/06/2022 13:16

The opposite for me. I got a nice, slightly unusual name, my poor DSis got one of the top 10 names at the time so she is one of about a billion women our age with that name.

Please
or

aftonwater · 24/06/2022 13:18

I have name relief. Relief that I wasn't given one of the alternatives my parents had considered!

Please
or

zafferana · 24/06/2022 13:20

Correction - I just googled the top names in the year my DSis was born and she got the #1 UK girls name for the entire decade 😖

Please
or

WhackingPhoenix · 25/06/2022 00:09

I adore my sister’s name but it wouldn’t suit me at all!