Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

I don't know what to do with my life

78 replies

rainbowhairchalk · 10/02/2024 16:32

I'm from the UK but live in another country, I'm 43, I have a DH and a DD. I don't speak the language very well so haven't had a proper job for a long time. I've done some online, freelance stuff but nothing particularly fulfilling.

I've recently been through treatment for an illness but should be ok now and I am desperate to do something with my life. I'm not leaving the country or my family, it's just not an option. I've had a look at potentially setting up as a VA but to be honest the amount of work involved is overwhelming.

I dream of doing a little admin job, I'm not a business strategist, I'm not a professional, I don't have lots of words and I'm not great at selling myself (can you tell?? 😅). The country I'm in is not very sympathetic to people who don't speak the language (I've been here a long time, it's not going to happen) so it's holding me back in getting any kind of job here.

So online is where it's at but what?! Should I retrain? If so, in what? I've done graphic design before and marketing but neither particularly set me on fire.

At the moment all I do is scroll all day or get panicky and start looking for jobs all over but never hear anything back. Financially we're ok and I don't need to work, I only need to work for my sanity and to feel like my life has purpose and meaning.

I'm deeply unhappy but having a job would change everything. Has anyone else been in this position? What did you do?

OP posts:
BarbieDangerous · 10/02/2024 16:34

I haven’t been in this situation myself but I’m sure someone with first hand experience will come along soon. I’m guessing you’ve tried learning the language but haven’t been too successful? It sounds like that would make a big difference in your day to day life

rainbowhairchalk · 10/02/2024 16:38

BarbieDangerous · 10/02/2024 16:34