Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

Step-parenting

43 replies

ATC0403 · 07/02/2024 13:15

I need to know if I am in the wrong for my reaction. I have a beautiful baby girl who is 7 months old. I also have two amazing stepsons 6 and 11. My oldest stepson lives with us full time seeing his mum once a month and we share custody with the youngest having him every Wednesday night to Sunday morning.

I have a reasonable relationship with their mum. When she picked her youngest up this week she told me I couldn't have anymore children because 4 would be to many and her children would be left out. I adore my stepsons and spend a lot of time with them both as a family and individually. We take them abroad every year, see the youngest every weekend and have a 5 bedroom house so all children have their own bedrooms. We both work, my husband is an engineer and I work part time as a teacher so both children get everything they need. We also pay half for any trips, after school clubs etc for the 6 year old alongside paying maintenance.

When I told her if I have more children it's none of her business. Her response that my life will always be her business as I spend time with her children. Am I being unreasonable for thinking she has overstepped the mark?

OP posts:

Am I being unreasonable?

204 votes. Final results.

POLL
You are being unreasonable
4%
You are NOT being unreasonable
96%
Woahtherehoney · 07/02/2024 13:17

It’s absolutely none of her business - especially as you already have one of her children more than she does!

It sounds to me like she’s a bit jealous of the set up you have -‘please don’t let her get to you OP. If you want more children and as long as you feel you can comfortably afford and look after them then you have more children!

PutMyFootIn · 07/02/2024 13:18

Oh don't even get into a discussion with her. What did your partner say when she said that?

Get your partner to do doorstep handovers and be done with her.