Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

To feel like I’ve fucked my life up

69 replies

dandelion1038 · 08/10/2022 20:24

I’m 30 and feel like I’ve ruined my adult life. I did well academically and got straight A’s and A*’s, but got into an abusive relationship shortly after finishing school and ended up having two children, I feel like it has been an upward struggle since then.

I love DC so much but I feel really ashamed with how little I have accomplished in life. Once they were both in school I flitted between a few different low paid and low skilled jobs, then finally ended up in higher education and got a 2:1 in my degree.

I graduated June 2021 and I’ve done very little since then to make any sort of career progression, just worked in schools as a teaching assistant or lunchtime assistant so I don’t have to worry about holiday childcare for DC. I also struggle with a lack of confidence when it comes to work and applying for better jobs.

I feel constantly worried about money, what I am doing job wise, and carry around a lot of shame that I had potential to do well in life but I screwed it all up by getting with a really nasty man.

Has anyone got any words of wisdom or has been in a similar situation to me and managed to turn things around? I feel really lost and alone at the moment 😔

OP posts:
Fran2508 · 08/10/2022 20:29

Dandelion - please don’t feel bad as you are doing brilliantly. You have cared for your children and managed to study for a degree. You have rvetytjing in place for the next stage of your life. To provide a stable life for your little ones whilst gaining a degree takes enormous effort and courage. I see you as someone achieving great things in demanding circumstances. Well done and keep going. Xxc

BritishDesiGirl · 08/10/2022 20:31

You haven't messed up your life, your a intelligent and strong woman!