Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

Vaping

28 replies

themimi · 29/09/2022 20:51

I work in a school and, like every school, vaping is rife. Parents seem to see it as a healthier alternative to smoking and are almost encouraging it. We have no guidance really on understanding it. Is it unhealthy? I don't even know how you go about getting vapes. Do you buy the vape pen and the liquid separately? Aibu to think they are as bad as smoking? Feel out of touch with the whole thing.

OP posts:
Name1232 · 29/09/2022 20:52

Certain ones are more dangerous than others, but none are healthy. Lots are unregulated so it's a gamble what they contain.

themimi · 29/09/2022 20:53

Name1232 · 29/09/2022 20:52

Certain ones are more dangerous than others, but none are healthy. Lots are unregulated so it's a gamble what they contain.

Thanks. It seems to me that they are specifically being marketed to teenagers with flavours such as 'candy'

OP posts:
Sirzy · 29/09/2022 20:55

Ds school is very clear on the fact that any e cigs will be confiscated as they would with cigarettes.

for people giving up smoking they are a useful tool and most evidence seems to suggest they are significantly safer than cigarettes. However when it comes to young people doing it to look cool there are no benefits!

MrsTerryPratchett · 29/09/2022 20:57

Parents seem to see it as a healthier alternative to smoking and are almost encouraging it.

I used to work in treatment and used to say, "forget the substance, it's the addiction". Almost anything can be an addiction, and of course the consequences vary based on the substance. But encouraging dependence on substances isn't good regardless.

Addiction breeds addiction. Don't parents want their children to be free from dependency?

browneyes77 · 29/09/2022 20:57

I vape. Have been for 8+ years since I quit smoking.