Talk

Advanced search

Renting / Notice and Viewings

(37 Posts)
WheresTheEvidence Tue 15-Sep-20 16:16:15

I have been renting privately for 4 years. Last week I recieved notice to end the tenancy. My landlord wants to do viewings but I am uncomfortable with people coming in and out of the flat at all times can I ask they do a virtual tour or wear masks.

OP’s posts: |
tectonicplates Tue 15-Sep-20 16:40:03

You are not required to let anyone in at all. Even in normal times, you are not legally obliged to let anyone in to your home for a viewing. If you've been given notice anyway, then your landlord is just going to have to wait.

Intelinside57 Tue 15-Sep-20 16:43:35

Yes, what tectonic says. Even if there is something in your rental agreement saying you have to allow viewings it's not legally enforceable. I would just say no, you are not willing to allow any viewings (no excuses as they would give the landlord loopholes to work with). If you have any problems you can get more information from Shelter.

WheresTheEvidence Tue 15-Sep-20 17:48:12

Okay.

Its just a lot to take in. Trying to find a new flat in under 6 weeks is going to be tricky enough but now

Shes booking appointments for workmen that she wants me to be here for and talking about viewings.

Will look up shelter.

Thank you.

WheresTheEvidence Tue 15-Sep-20 19:01:51

So on shelter I've just read that she needs to give me 6 months notice due to covid is this right? Or wishful reading

Butterer Tue 15-Sep-20 19:03:22

WheresTheEvidence

So on shelter I've just read that she needs to give me 6 months notice due to covid is this right? Or wishful reading

100% right. Up to a week or two ago, the required notice was 3 months, up from 2 months pre-covid times.

Butterer Tue 15-Sep-20 19:07:12

Date you were given notice, and minimum notice period:
On or after 29 August 2020: 6 months
Between 26 March and 28 August 2020:3 months
Before 26 March 2020: 2 months