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GOOGLE ADS HELP NEEDED PLEASE URGENTLY - Assignment Deadline

14 replies

GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 10:02

Hi All
I am in the digital marketing field and completing a course to become certified in paid ads.

I have an assignment to complete by tomorrow 8am (job dependent). I attached a picture of the figures that were reported. (I changed the currency symbol for privacy purposes)

I desperately need help with interpreting the figures. I was not given any info about how the ad was run or setup which I think is part of the challenge.

Could anyone please assist me? I have done the courses but I am unsure how to read these results as they are. Normally on the google ads dashboard there is more info which makes it easier to interpret.

I keep over analyzing everything which having ADHD makes me overwhelmed and even more confused. I would appreciate any assistance and it will also be a good learning curve for me.

Thank you so much!

GOOGLE ADS HELP NEEDED PLEASE URGENTLY - Assignment Deadline
OP posts:
GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 17:28

Please can someone help me :-)

OP posts:
FishcakesWithTooMuchCoriander · 12/06/2022 17:36

Are you wanting us to do your coursework for you?

You know, the certification is to prove you can do this stuff, don’t you?

There must be something in your course materials that can help you. Can you narrow it down by looking at the analytics bits?

SpindleSheWrote · 12/06/2022 17:40

So that's the task - to interpret the figures?

So you introduce the 'essay' (so to speak) by explaining the terms. Do you now what the terms used mean? Do you understand how the spreadsheet is working there?

SpindleSheWrote · 12/06/2022 17:41

Sorry, know not now ^^

GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 17:42

No, I am just stuck with something. I have done my analysis but I needed to make sure my feedback with regards to the increased budget was justified and because the click through's were not included, I had to work them out & I am not sure that they are accurately calculated.

OP posts:
GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 17:49

I have uploaded a pic of my calculations to work out the ratio between impressions and conversions. I am confused at the 0.03%. Did I do this accurately? I know a successful campaign is above 4%. So I don't know if my figures are meant to be 3% or if it is really under 1%. Obviously two completely different scenarios. I'm rubbish at calculating and unsure that mine are accurate. If they're accurate then the results are not great are they?

GOOGLE ADS HELP NEEDED PLEASE URGENTLY - Assignment Deadline
OP posts:
GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 17:50

Just to add, I have just included January results for the image.

OP posts:
PeekabooAtTheZoo · 12/06/2022 17:57

Ok so this is a really standard table and I'm a bit worried that you're getting certification for something you can't do.
But I'm going to explain it anyway because it sounds like the course was a bit crap on explaining stuff and it's up to you whether you learn from this or whether you just put it in for a "pass".

Spend is how much they have spent on paid ads. Eg in January they spent $20,000.

Conversions is how many people actually did the thing. Usually this is people who clicked then downloaded your file or bought your product. The units here are people. So in January 189 people bought the product.

Impressions is how many people saw the ad.

You can turn conversions into a percentage by doing conversions divided by impressions. For January this is 189/547987x100= 0.03%

ROAS is explained here: support.google.com/google-ads/answer/6268637?hl=en#:~:text=Your%20target%20ROAS%20is%20the,traffic%20your%20ads%20may%20get.

Frequency is repeats of adverts. So, on average how many times did someone see the same ad? You don't want to waste adspend showing this to the same person too many times when you could retarget it instead.

CPM is cost per mille (cost per 1000 impressions). These ads are wasting masses of money as it is costing 27p to 36p to show adverts to each person (CPM/1000).

Cost per conversion is a much better way to measure effectiveness than CPM. Looking at January, your CPC is 20000/189 = $105 per sale. So unless they're selling high ticket or you're actually working in JPY or INR, they're likely losing money on these ads.

Does that make sense?

PeekabooAtTheZoo · 12/06/2022 17:59

GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 17:49

I have uploaded a pic of my calculations to work out the ratio between impressions and conversions. I am confused at the 0.03%. Did I do this accurately? I know a successful campaign is above 4%. So I don't know if my figures are meant to be 3% or if it is really under 1%. Obviously two completely different scenarios. I'm rubbish at calculating and unsure that mine are accurate. If they're accurate then the results are not great are they?

No you're right I got 0.03 too. And from my other calculations this campaign is definitely ineffective.

PeekabooAtTheZoo · 12/06/2022 18:02

Sorry I typed out my first reply one-handed and by the time I finished you'd explained that interpreting the pic in the OP wasn't the issue you were having.

nomistake · 12/06/2022 18:05

A conversion rate for a google ad campaign would usually be based on clicks to conversions, not impressions to conversions. 0.03% sounds about right for impressions to conversions.

GeekyDiva80 · 12/06/2022 18:07

Thank you so much @PeekabooAtTheZoo . Yes, you have made complete sense. I do know conversions etc, but was doubting my calculations as they seemed so low and didn't want to look like a fool and provide feedback in that regard if I in fact calculated incorrectly. I really appreciate your help and thank you so much.

OP posts:
BrownStripePJ · 17/06/2022 18:01

I know it's too late now but out of interest what did you conclude by looking at the table?

I would personally want to see CTR, Conv rate too and definitely need to see CPC since that's what the budget is directly related to rather than impressions

I don't have the table in front of me but looks like for March the ppc person went too aggressive on budget which may have opened the audience up to less specific people or to people with lesser intent as you increased spend by x amount but clicks only went up by y amount

It helps to add %differences for MoM analysis(and yoy or WoW) basically whatever periods you are comparing it's useful to see the % shift

Eg) I spent 50% more but got only 25% more on clicks (or revenue or whatever your KPI is)

From a business pov net revenue and roi are usually the most important things to focus on for KPIs

Hope that helps for next time

BabylonFly · 08/12/2023 09:03

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