Please
or
to access all these features

Join the chat on our Weight Loss forum.

Weight loss chat

Cooking

9 replies

mummymels · 05/03/2010 21:58

Did your mum cook and do you cook? Is cooking really a dying art?

My mum used to do a mixture of home cooked food and bought. I'm the same but have to admit that I probably do less home cooked them my mum did. I would love to cook more but I find it hard finding the time to cook from scratch.

OP posts:
Tortington · 05/03/2010 22:05

my nan was a cook by profession and i was given larvelly meals, lots of jersey royal new potatoes and cabbage and roast beef i remeber.

lots of pastry with plate meat pie or tater ash.

however she didn't teach me. she lived with us til i was 12

she taught my cousin though as the minded her a lot.

my mum was inane and so i can't remember her cooking, she made a mean stew though, and i make a mean stew too.

i can follow a recipe - i mean who can't its the same as putting an ikea wardrobe together.

i think you hit the nail on the head with time.

who has the time to come in from work sit down and help with three seperate lots of homework, sort out uniforms for the next day, put a wash on, wash the pots, fold some clothes, tidy up....then bake a fucking cake.

lifes too short.

Tortington · 05/03/2010 22:05

inane and insane - but she could spell

mummymels · 11/03/2010 22:17

Exactly Custardo. Maybe one day we will have more time to be a domestic goddess!

OP posts:
simmo39 · 12/03/2010 22:29

I know what you mean, where did your grannies find the time? I mean they had the same chores, minus all the gadgets we now have. Or maybe the supermarkets weren't stacked with ready meals so they just didn't have any choice.