Please
or
to access all these features

Weaning

10 month old solids

33 replies

Candymanmummy · 26/09/2022 14:54

Hi any mums out there need advice

My ds is 10 months and I've been using ellas kitchen meals since he was 6 months old which he lovesI've tried fresh foods but not interested. He will eat cheerios and puffs. I've tried bread, pitta bread, fresh fruits, mash, fresh veg. Some people have told me I'm doing the weaning wrong so I'm stressing out and my anxiety is thru the roof. Am I wrong? Any help or advice is warmly needed x

OP posts:
Please
or

YellowTreeHouse · 26/09/2022 15:56

Just give baby whatever you eat cut appropriately (solid starts is a great reference for this), and obviously mind the sugar/salt content and no honey before 1.

Baby doesn’t learn how to eat with pouches and being spoonfed. They need proper meals so they can learn how to use cutlery, how to take appropriate size bites, how to chew and swallow etc.

Until 1 food isn’t to fill them up but to help them learn how to eat and explore tastes and textures. So it doesn’t matter if he doesn’t eat any of it or chuck it all on the floor as milk is still his main source of nutrition.

Your job is not to fill him up or make him eat but to offer food, sit with him and eat the same and show him how it’s done.

Please
or

howdoesatoastermaketoast · 26/09/2022 16:04

I agree with @YellowTreeHouse and would add to google for baby led weaning, dd loved noting more than to just go at a banana - messy as hell to clean up but the baby likes it ime. For us small strips of wholemeal toast spread with preferred baby food as a toast topper was a winner. (we had a ton of homemade baby food in the freezer we wanted to use up). Don't let people get in your head too much about what your baby should be doing or should be eating but do listen to the shouldn'ts from reputable health care sources (if that makes sense)

Please
or

Milkand2sugarsplease · 26/09/2022 16:07