Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Mumsnet does not check the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you're worried about the health of your horse, please speak to a vet or qualified professional.

Thinking about getting a pony......

sep1712 · 07/06/2010 22:14

I'm a bit of a novice so any information would be welcomed. Pros and cons please.

We have been offered the use of some unused stables by a very dear friend about a mile away from home with as much pasture as i need.

I learnt to ride as i was growing up and had a shetland but can't really remeber doing much with it! I'm sure my dad just popped it in a field and didnt do much else with it!
I had access to a friends horse that she didnt have time to ride but i'm by no means experienced.

I have 3dc, ds10 ds6 dd3. I would like a fun way to get fit and something to interest us as a family.

I'm not over weight so i'm thinking i could get a pony thats suitable for me and my ds10 and a smaller one for the younger ones. Pony don't like being on there own do they? There's only sheep at the farm so i'm not sure if thats enough company for a pony?

Would i need to get them in every night and turn them out every morning or could i leave them out all the time?? I told you was green!!

Is this a crazy idea?? Can anyone talk any sense at me please??

OP's posts:
Please
or

ASecretLemonadeDrinker · 07/06/2010 22:23