My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Discuss horse riding and ownership on our Horse forum.

The tack room

First horse! Should I?

18 replies

mousepen · 26/01/2024 23:41

I've ridden on and off since I was in primary school school been on a few horse horse holiday and hacks, I have lessons for a while then stop for one reason or another normally just life stuff getting in the way! I'm turning 40 this year and I feel like I just need to do it and buy my horse!! I feel like I'm a somewhat a confident novice but nothing more. I have horsey friends around me. I also have stables at home so I have the option to have the horse and a companion at home. Although I feel a livery yard will be best for a year to get to grips with things! I have 2 small children and child free couple of days in the week aswell time over the weekend to ride . Should I? Or shall I keep just having lessons. When is the right time to get your own horse. I just want to hack and do low level xc , beach rides . Shall I be brave and do it! 🤗 or is it silly now.

OP posts:
EggTheFirst · 26/01/2024 23:47

Can you look after the horse before and after work on top of riding time?

Taking kids to a year is shit, especially if you are novice with a new horse.

I would look at a share with no yard duties involved, see how just riding three or four times a week works for you and go from there.

EggTheFirst · 26/01/2024 23:48

*yard, not year!

twistyizzy · 27/01/2024 06:24

Whilst I'm always for buying a horse, if you have never had one before then keeping it at home isn't the most sensible option.
Horses need companionship therefore you would need to get another horse ad a friend for yours
Do you know what a horse colicking looks like?
Do you know how to manage grazing and understand about wormjng programmes?
Who will look after the horse while you are away on holiday or if you are sick?
You would need to source hay and bedding suppliers plus someone to remove the Muck heap regularly