My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Discuss horse riding and ownership on our Horse forum.

The tack room

Anyone riding in SE London/Kent atm?

18 replies

Pegase · 24/05/2022 14:13

Just wondered if anybody or their children are riding at a school in SE London/Kent that they recommend? I feel like I've tried most over the years - I'm honestly not a nightmare but just want somewhere where I will be taught by a qualified adult who is interested in and experienced in teaching rather than a 'Senior Instructor' who is 16 and has been teaching a year. I work in education and for my own personality, riding is much psychology as the mechanics.

I had a wonderful horse share which I had to give up when pregnant so looking for the stable that can take me from my riding 'break' to competition, a new loan and then fingers crossed ownership.

I'm nearly 40 and had hoped I would be living the horsey dream by now!!

OP posts:
Pegase · 24/05/2022 14:15

Sorry should add I need a confidence builder as if anyone yells at me to ride better in whatever way, I basically fall apart and get worse and worse! When I had my share I had a wonderful coach but obviously she doesn't have a riding school with horses to borrow!!

OP posts:
XelaM · 24/05/2022 22:39

If you're able to travel to North London I could recommend a few good instructors at different riding schools. One of the schools does a lot of loans/shares, but also has its own school ponies for lessons. Is the aim to compete in SJ and dressage?

Pegase · 24/05/2022 23:02

Yes initially just dressage. Maybe SJ but would be happy for that to just be little u/a comps!

North might be a stretch as I have to fit around the children although I am near the new Elizabeth line if there id anywhere near a tube.

OP posts:
Floralnomad · 25/05/2022 22:43

Wyatt Equestrian at Benenden . Alex is excellent and he has some lovely horses .

MavisMonkey · 08/06/2022 23:29