Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Full time with young children

RaineDay · 30/05/2022 19:29

I’ve been working part time for four years now, I’m an infant teacher. It’s worked well but unfortunately I am going to have to return full time in the next year or so for financial reasons.

I am worried about the impact on my own children and wondered if anyone could reassure me? They will be 7 and 4 and attending school breakfast and after school club. We don’t have family to help locally so I am feeling guilty that I’ll never be able to do a normal school run and they’ll have long days. I appreciate lots of parents work full time, I’m sure it will work out but looking for tips, tricks or any insight into how to make life work?

Thank you

OP's posts:
Please
or

Katjolo · 30/05/2022 21:33

How many days do you do now OP?

Please
or

Hercisback · 30/05/2022 22:18

I do it but with supportive local family. They do 2 pick ups a week. Everything else is husband or breakfast/after school club.

Do you both need to be in early? I get in early and leave early to get the kids. Sorry if you don't have a partner.

Dump the guilt about breakfast/after school club. You get 13 weeks with them. I refuse to feel bad about weekdays. I try not to work weekends and get as much as possible done during the day and evenings. It's just about manageable term time.

Get organised. Have freezer meals ready to go. Worth a day every half term sorting them. We have a cleaner every other week. I have relatively low standards which helps. Accept that good enough is enough. You don't need to be extra all the time (if you are at the moment!).

Would your school allow PPA at home for you to pick up or drop off once a week?

Please
or

RaineDay · 31/05/2022 07:49