Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Contacting union - I need advice

Namexhangee · 25/01/2021 07:48

Hi, I have name changed for this but I am a teacher!

At the moment, as I’m sure is the case in many schools, we do not have a rota for staff who are in. Some staff are wfh 100% of the time, providing online learning (do not envy them that and am under no illusions that is easy). Most of us are in 100% of the time, delivering the normal curriculum to smaller classes (not smaller by that much).

With it looking like this is going to go on until after Easter - I feel it’s absolutely ludicrous that some of us are going to be exposed to the risk 100% and others 0%. We were not asked to volunteer to come in - just told.

I am also sure that the staff at home have not been selected to wfh based on vulnerability. I have taught here for several years and know them all well. I can be very very sure about it for most of them (not all). SLT have also made it clear that they have been selected based on being able to deliver the best home learning Hmm

I have never spoken to the union before and am really really concerned that it could get back to the school that it was me. How does it work?! I have looked up my union rep for the area (in NW) but I don’t want to proceed unless it’s absolutely definite that it can remain anonymous regarding my school finding out.

Also maybe I need to just suck it up - but staff morale is at rock bottom because of this.

OP's posts:
Please
or

NamechangerTA · 25/01/2021 11:13

I feel your pain. But I don’t have any advice regarding contacting a union.

I’m on a TA rota where some of my colleagues are doing WAY less than others.

It’s become apparent to me that it’s ‘every man for himself’, and an ‘I’m alright Jack’ attitude amongst most of my colleagues and I’m beyond pissed off about it. Oh and a ridiculous amount of favouritism.

I’ll chat more soon, got to get to a virtual lesson now.

Please
or