Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Struggling...

alittleredhen · 01/09/2020 22:37

Hi, I am desperate need of some advice.
In short, I am not coping. I'm due to leave at Easter but I'm not going to make it until Christmas at this rate. I can't even see beyond this week. I have been teaching for 15 years and in my current school for 3. I am so unhappy, it's making me physically sick. I am being bullied and ostracised, I have very little support. My union were not helpful as I had told them I was leaving so they said to just ride it out, but my anxiety levels are sky high and depression is rising. I have previously seen a GP regarding this. I'm worried that if if I am signed off sick, it will have an impact on my reference and future job applications but I honestly cannot cope. What can I do?

OP's posts:
Please
or

Idontlikeyoghurt · 02/09/2020 00:56

Sign off sick. It's not worth burning yourself out for. Hope you are ok

Please
or

alittleredhen · 02/09/2020 05:54

@Idontlikeyoghurt everybody around me keeps advising me to do so but I'm terrified of the impact it will have on me getting another job. I've never been signed off in my entire life.

OP's posts:
Please
or

StationView · 02/09/2020 09:20

Honestly, get signed off. I had a month off in the 2018/19 academic year due to a combination of work and home stress. I had exactly the same concerns about how it would look on my employment record, but I really wasn't fit to work. A month off did me the world of good - I hadn't realised just how much on the edge I was until I stopped.

Please
or

PenOrPencil · 02/09/2020 20:25

Why are you sticking around until Easter? Can you not leave at Christmas?

I felt the same in my last job and just concentrated on teaching my classes and didn’t engage with anything else. I kept myself to myself and went home as early as possible every day. Or be signed off.

Please
or

SquashedFlyBiscuits · 02/09/2020 21:12