Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

New job in a school

CleverQuacks · 04/01/2020 18:05

In two weeks time I start my new job in a primary school. I am not a teacher, I will be the lead for safeguarding. Until now I have been working in social care so I know a lot about safeguarding and I am not concerned about that aspect of the job. However I have never worked in a school before! So any tips for fitting well into the school environment? Particularly as I wont be teaching staff so may be the “odd one out”. What are the challenges related to working in a school?

OP's posts:
Please
or

2of50BookChallenge2020done · 04/01/2020 18:38

I currently work in a SEN school (but am hoping to move across to mainstream). Just smile and be friendly! We see our Safeguarding lead around all the time. She's just another human. No big deal.
I am interested to chat to you more about the safeguarding aspect as I'm considering taking the role of safeguarding officer on at my DCs rugby club. I haven't managed to speak with the outgoing officer in the Christmas craziness yet though, so I'd be interested to know what it entails.

Please
or

cabbageking · 04/01/2020 20:27

Do you mean the DSL? I think you just ensure staff know who you are and that you are approachable.

Please
or

fedup21 · 05/01/2020 01:31

Particularly as I wont be teaching staff so may be the “odd one out”.

There will be loads of other support staff-I wouldn’t worry about that. Just be approachable and friendly.

Please
or

viques · 07/01/2020 13:45