Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

World Book Day - one child forgot

Wollstonecraft1 · 01/03/2018 22:09

I'm fairly new to a school as a midday supervisor so I'm not there very much but one of the children looks bedraggled and unkempt and always very hungry by lunchtime.

He was the only child not in costume in the whole school today and I felt so sorry for him. I don't know why his teacher didn't find him something to wear to make him less conspicuous.

Obviously I don't know the background, but I didn't get the impression it was through choice. I'm not sure why I'm posting really, just wanted to share and understand how to manage these situations in my very junior role.

OP's posts:
Please
or

FlibbertyGiblets · 01/03/2018 22:23

WBD notwithstanding, you've reported the very hungry situation to your safeguarding lead?

Please
or

BringOnTheScience · 01/03/2018 22:26

Log your concerns with the school's Designated Person. It could be a small piece in a bigger jigsaw picture.

Please
or

mummyhaschangedhername · 01/03/2018 22:26

Could there be an special needs? My eldest really struggled with dressing up at school for a long time.

I think it may be wise to ask the teacher or a member of the management team if you have concerns.

Please
or

crunchtime · 01/03/2018 22:28

Have you done safeguarding training? If you are concerned about a child then you need to do a note of concern and pass it to your designated safeguarding lead.

Please
or

fairypuff · 01/03/2018 22:30

Reaasuring to see that even in a "junior role" you are looking out for the wellbeing on each child. Please don't undermine your importance. You might be one of the only ppl looking out for this child. Definitely report hunger and bedraggled appearance to the child protection lead in the school.

Please
or

shouldwestayorshouldwego · 01/03/2018 22:31