My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on special needs.

SN children

Brain Gym

19 replies

Kittypickle · 24/11/2004 12:49

Has anyone any experience of one on one sessions with a Brain Gym Consultant ? I've noticed on the website that there is a lady pretty local to us who does this, I've just been reading the book her SENCO kindly lent me and it does look as if it might be helpful (DD is nearly 6 and has Dyspraxia and Hypermobility and as a result is struggling to form letters.

OP posts:
Dingle · 24/11/2004 13:00

Sorry Kittypickle, I have no experience. DS (NT) does Brain Gym exercises at school and this was the first I've heard of them.
Would be really interested in finding out more, perhaps they might be of some use for dd.
What's the website please?

Kittypickle · 24/11/2004 13:05

It's www.braingym.org.uk , trying to do a link went horribly wrong, sorry ! I'm not very far into the book yet but it does look good so far.

OP posts:
hana · 24/11/2004 13:08

Brain Gym is excellent, I regularly use the 'exercises' with my students before lessons and as a 'break' during them. Have led a few training sessions with my colleagues. There are a few books, pretty self explanatory really

Dingle · 24/11/2004 13:10

I have a go here

What's the book called?

hana · 24/11/2004 13:13

sorry, they are at school, I think 'Brain Gym' though.....? It's all American stuff

Kittypickle · 24/11/2004 13:21

I've got a copy of "Hands On - how to use Brain Gym in the classroom" - Cohen and Goldsmith. It does seem pretty straight forward, although I'm beginning to think I might have a couple of co-ordinations issues from it !!!!!

OP posts:
Dingle · 24/11/2004 13:26

This sounds really interesting. I would love to learn more. The course is over £400!
Perhaps it would be something I could organise through the DSA group I help with.
I might ask at ds's school too!

Kittypickle · 24/11/2004 13:29