Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on special needs.

Autistic traits at 16 months but did not have autism?

HopefulMother1 · 04/05/2022 08:46

Hello mothers. My son is displaying a number of autistic traits. He does not point, wave or imitate clapping (well, only once he did), he very occasionally flaps, does not respond to his name often (although he does if he knows I am calling him for something he wants), and his eye contact is not amazing (it is on his terms usually) although it has improved in the last month since I started getting down on the floor and playing with him. Despite all these traits, I am aware that I have been working full-time since he turned 8 months, he hasn't attended nursery, and so has little to no interaction with anyone, nor did I recognise the importance of modelling. I am not expressive in body language myself and so my son has only seen me point, clap and wave in the last month. He also has not said any real words although he will occasionally say "ma ma ma ma" or "da da da da". He does babble although nothing I understand and not in a conversational way (back and forth with me).

On the positive side, he seeks me out and pulls my face to look into his eyes if I haven't for a number of hours, he loves peek-a-boo, and is super fast at picking up any toys he has to learn. He also walked early at 8 months. He plays well with peers his age on the few occasions he has had a chance to (follows them around), and looks strangers in the eyes before usually coming to hide behind my legs if they talk to him.

Has anyone had a similar story and found that their toddler turned out to not be autistic? My son is due to start nursery in a few weeks so I am hoping this helps. Alternatively, has anyone had a similar story and managed to help their toddler develop to be fully functioning. If so, how?

OP's posts:
Please
or