My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on special needs.

SN children

Infantile spasms?

10 replies

Grumpet · 20/08/2020 21:57

Hello, my son is 16 weeks old (12 weeks corrected) and he's never been smooth in his movements but I've noticed he sometimes throws his arms in the air and doesn't look like he's controlling it. Here's a link to a video taken this evening :
I'm really scared he's having infantile spasms. Would you mind looking at giving me your opinions please.

OP posts:
orinocosfavoritecake · 21/08/2020 13:26

I'm not a doctor. I'm not at all qualified to say if that video shows infantile spasms, nor do I have any experience of them.

I do know, though, that it if you any concerns about this you should contact your GP asap. Waiting won't help.

Good luck. You have a very cute baby.

Grumpet · 21/08/2020 15:48

Thank you for your reply @orinocosfavoritecake,
I'm living in France and my whole GP surgery is closed for two weeks for annual leave. You are right though I don't want to be waiting around!
In my late night stress I found the email of a neuro pediatrician and sent them the video. She has booked him in for an EEG next Friday. I will update once we have the results.
Thank you - I feel very lucky with my amazing boy x

OP posts:
orinocosfavoritecake · 22/08/2020 10:34

Great work getting an appointment. You're a very organised mum as well as a very loving one!

HeyThereDelilah1 · 30/08/2020 22:34

Hope he’s ok, my son had similar when he was a baby and it was benign neonatal myoclonus which hasn’t caused him any long term issues, 6 now. Let is know how you get on - he’s very cute!

tornadoalley · 05/09/2020 12:10

I think the jerks are not severe enough for it to be IS apart from one, and babies often cry after the upward jerk. However I'm pleased you are getting advice and an EEG, as that's exactly the right thing to do, and I hope it all goes well.