My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on special needs.

SN children

NEW HERE! NEED HELP ABOUT DOWNS SYNDROME

20 replies

Dingle · 03/08/2004 19:44

HELP, I'M NEW TO ALL THIS!
I HAVE A LITTLE GIRL OF 2YRS 9MNTHS WITH DS.NEED ADVICE ON ALL SORTS OF MATTERS - NEARLY ALL THE FAMILIES I'VE MET VIA DSA SO FAR HAVE BABIES. IT WOULD BE LOVELY TO CHAT TO SOMEONE WHO IS GOING THROUGH THE SAME THINGS AS I AM NOW, OR HAS BEEN THERE AND COME OUT THE OTHER SIDE!

OP posts:
Blu · 03/08/2004 19:48

Dingle, hello and welcome to Mumsnet. I'm not myself the Mum of a DS child, but those who are (and there are a good few) will be round to say hello very soon, I'm sure.

Janh · 03/08/2004 19:48

Dingle, you need Thomcat and eidsvold (both have daughters with DS, not sure of exact ages but TC's is around 2) who will probably both be along shortly. Meanwhile try doing a search on their names!

Piffleoffagus · 03/08/2004 19:50

Welcome Dingle, I agree that TC and Eidsvold are who you will hear from, Eids is in Australia so might be on a different time loop.
Take care, someone in the know will greet you shortly
xx

miffymiffy · 03/08/2004 19:53

Related to this subject, I have a question - how do you explain to a 2 yr old that a new friend of his is 'allowed' to behave badly (eg, hitting) because that child has Downs? They will be in the same class in Sept, and I hope they will continue to be friends.

miffymiffy · 03/08/2004 19:54

4 year old, obviously - how time flies!

katierocket · 03/08/2004 19:54

hello dingle - have you looked under 'topics' and 'special needs' you'll find loads of useful stuff there but agree with Janh that you need thomcat and eidsvold.
welcome to mumsnet

coppertop · 03/08/2004 20:15

Welcome to Mumsnet. Just bumping this up so that TC or Eidsvold will see it. Have you been in touch with the DSA?

luckymum · 03/08/2004 20:25

Hi Dingle, welcome, you'll find loads of help here.