My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

You need to have been registered for 7 days to post in the Sex forum. Please don’t send unwanted PMs to other users.

Sex

Discussing sex with Teen DS

7 replies

SexEdDS · 09/02/2022 13:31

My DS is 16 in the summer, he doesn’t have a gf and doesn’t seem interested in relationships at present. I have had chats with him about sex, contraception and consent in the past. He has a much younger sister, so this is my first time parenting a teenager.
Is this enough?

OP posts:
outdooryone · 09/02/2022 15:33

I made sure that I emphasised that there are choices - and there is no 'right or wrong', and I would be there no matter the choices they made. In fact I was open to them speaking to me about anything - and one has been quite inquisitive/graphic.

MrsGHarrison87 · 09/02/2022 19:21

I would just go with what feels comfortable for him. I have a slightly younger teen and we had the talk a couple of years ago when he was 11. I made sure he knows the basics, but didn't overload him with information. As your son is nearly 16 he probably knows everything. You could just reinforce his knowledge of contraception and consent and be casual about things rather than sitting down and having a big speech which could be embarrassing for you both.

MintyFreshBreath · 16/02/2022 21:14