My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Connect with other parents whose children are starting secondary school on this forum.

Secondary education

secondary school routine

13 replies

kamanmama · 29/02/2024 12:01

Hi there, i am new to UK secondary school system. Can anyone help me with that? My girl is going to year 7 this Sept. I am worried about her. I know that everyone in primary school goes to the same class every day. they have same break time and lunchtime. So they can easily to make friends with her class or next class. How about secondary school? i heard that even they are in same class, but student may get different timetable or in different tutor group? someone say student may have different classmate in different subject? how that would be? how can they make friends? cos i move to different area from primary school. i sure she know nobody in secondary school. feel very nervous for her, especially i dunno the secondary school format here.

OP posts:
SpringOfContentment · 29/02/2024 12:19

Secondary schools will have different ways of working, so noone can answer exactly what will happen in September for your daughter.

ALL the schools will know how important it is for kids to make good friends, and will structure the day for how they believe it will work best for their size of school.

In some ways, it is good if the kids are mixed up between classes, because it gives them more chance to find the really strong friendships. Yes, it might take a bit longer, but it gives them a chance to find the people who really get them.
I've yet to come across a school that doesn't have all of a year group with the same break and lunchtimes - but not all the year groups will necessarily have breaks at the same time.

GemMeUp · 29/02/2024 12:22