Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Get updates on how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy by signing up to the Mumsnet Pregnancy Newsletters.

Pregnancy

Maternity pay help

9 replies

OptimusPrime31 · 25/01/2023 16:48

I'm trying to work out how much to expect when I go on mat leave. I will get occupational maternity pay( I'm a teacher) but will i also get statutory maternity pay? A colleague said I would but I'm not sure how accurate her information is

I know work will tell me eventually but I want to have a rough idea now for my own peace of mind.

OP posts:
Please
or

Suprima · 25/01/2023 16:52

I can’t tell you with the information you have given. I have no idea about your employment circumstances.

Have you taken look at your contract?

how long have you been working there?
do you work for a local authority school?
are you employed by an academy? if you do, do they follow the burgundy book?
do they have their own maternity leave policy?

all policies are probably on the shared area of your school network in a folder

Please
or

OrcaBlondie · 25/01/2023 16:53

OptimusPrime31 · 25/01/2023 16:48

I'm trying to work out how much to expect when I go on mat leave. I will get occupational maternity pay( I'm a teacher) but will i also get statutory maternity pay? A colleague said I would but I'm not sure how accurate her information is

I know work will tell me eventually but I want to have a rough idea now for my own peace of mind.

Best to check your works maternity policy. This should make it clear for you as you may not get statutory for the whole duration you are off. Or check with HR.

Please
or

FlyOnTheWall89 · 25/01/2023 16:59