My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Find nursery advice from other Mumsnetters on our Nursery forum.

Nurseries

Ok so am I being over protective or do I have a genuine concern?

8 replies

milfAKAmonkeymonkeymoomoo · 17/04/2008 09:54

My DD attends a nursery that OFSTED calls 'outstanding', she is there for 2 days a week. She was in the Baby Unit up until the beginning of March, the baby unit was worthy of its outstanding accolade - no complaints or concerns there but since she has moved up to the toddler unit I have not been as happy with her care.

Just to say that I think I pay nursery to provide the same standard of care that I would do at home, I accept they have to do things differently because they are looking after a group of children. I'm not an over protective Mummy either and believe in children exploring their world and accepting that different people have different ways of doing things.

So my concerns are these: inadequate supervision (turned up this morning and there was one lady looking after children in two rooms, she seemed harassed and was a bit stroppy), DD coming home in a soaking wet nappy and numerous scrapes and bruises but no explanations.

OP posts:
MrsMattie · 17/04/2008 09:57

One woman looking after children in two rooms - breaks the child-adult ratio. Nurseries are supposed to be very strict about this. I'd be worried about that, to be honest.

Scrapes & bruises - normal. Unless your child is cut, has a bump to the head, is bitten etc, then the nursery should always inform you and fill out an accident form. Otherwise - these things happen.

Wet nappies - what is their policy on this? Do they have set nappy changing times? If your child is always coming home wet, say something.

RubySlippers · 17/04/2008 09:58

i think you are right to be concerned