My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

This forum is the home of Mumsnet classic threads.

MNHQ have commented on this thread

Mumsnet classics

Aibu to ask for the most "WTF" complaints

532 replies

HouseholdPlantMurderer · 17/08/2019 10:49

You have ever received?

I will start. Not the most ridiculous one, but in my top 10.
Woman demanding that I check in the back for a certain colour of a dress she wanted otherwise she will have me fired. After 5 minutes of her moaning she can't get it anywhere and me trying to explain that it's because it's not even made in the colour she wants, I went. I needed a toilet anyway 🙈

A customer ordered spicy italian sub. It's on a picture. It has a description there, he watched me to put pepperoni and salami in. Came back few minutes later FUMING that it's not vegetarian.... Sent a complaint to a head office about it too.

Aibu to ask for the most "WTF" complaints
OP posts:
Soubriquet · 17/08/2019 11:02

I think it’s a well known fact that employees will sit out the back for a few minutes to “look” after explicitly telling the customer it is OUT of stock and then refusing to listen.

I know I’ve done it Grin

DisplayPurposesOnly · 17/08/2019 11:09

A previous guest on a walking safari (in Africa) couldn't cope with animal droppings, so the safari guides had to clear the path ahead.

AnnaMagnani · 17/08/2019 11:12

Patient complained he couldn't sleep overnight as all the staff were having a party.

Ward manager checked the time he had helpfully written in his complaint - all staff were actually dealing with a cardiac arrest in the bed next to his.

She enjoyed writing the response to that complaint.

whifflesqueak · 17/08/2019 11:14

I had a man complain about music (quiet and tasteful) playing inside the pub. He was actually sitting outside and definitely could t have heard it.

“I really think you should consider that some people don’t like music.”

I did. I considered that you are a curmudgeonly minority and discounted your opinion.

He was also wearing a spectacularly thick woollen jumper on a blistering hot day.

goodwinter · 17/08/2019 11:15

My favourite one was when I was working at Spoons. Some guy ordered a curry and managed to get an oily stain on his white shirt from eating poppadoms. He then complained to me and demanded we pay his dry cleaning bill.

MonstranceClock · 17/08/2019 11:20

The woman who came to cornwall and complained that the sand was wet Grin that one made the news!

Spam88 · 17/08/2019 11:20

Similar to above - I was working in a baguette cafe and a woman ordered a something and roasted veg baguette. She was absolutely furious when she dripped oil on her top. Kicked up a right fuss and demanded we pay for her dry cleaning, because the menu hadn't said the roasted vegetable were cooked in oil 🤔

Buildalegohouse · 17/08/2019 11:21

A parent complained that they had seen me eating at McDonalds because we are a healthy school and it sets the wrong example. It was the summer holidays and they were in there too!

A parent complained that their child had seen me in a swimming costume at a leisure centre in the holidays. I was there with my children and I had purposefully gone to one in a different town to avoid seeing kids from school (and their parents!) 🙄

DrDreReturns · 17/08/2019 11:24

I used to work in a cinema. We would get parents complaining when we refused admission because their kids were obviously too young for the film. Apparently it was all my fault...

Soubriquet · 17/08/2019 11:31

Oh that I remember reading about the person who went to Spain and complained that too many people spoke Spanish Confused

PositiveVibez · 17/08/2019 11:32

I used to arrange conferences which were completely free for social housing tenants to attend.

We ran workshops which were facilitated by sector experts, had housing ministers as guest speakers etc.

On the feedback forms all people did was comment on the food. It drove me mad.

After attending the free conference, receiving free travel, attending interesting workshops etc, one lady's only comment on the feedback form, was that the pork needed tenderising 😠

elf1985 · 17/08/2019 11:35

I worked in a bank. It was my fault a customer was overdrawn, i was an arse, I didn't understand how difficult it was living on benefits, I didn't understand how difficult his life was. My boss happily pointed out how he had spent £400 in game that week.

StillCoughingandLaughing · 17/08/2019 11:36

My sister worked in a homewares shop years ago and a woman came in looking for cream towels. She said ‘How many shades do you have in these ones?’ My sister starting listing ‘We’ve got them in yellow, blue, pink...’

The woman cut her off and said ‘No no NO! How many shades of cream do you have?’

Weirdly enough, just the one. Cream.

Monst3ra · 17/08/2019 11:37

I worked in Laura Ashley and the level of unreasonable from customers there exceed anywhere else I've worked.

One customer was redecorating her extended dining room and came in requesting wallpaper she had used for the original part 15 or so years ago. It was discontinued. After searching through past catalogues, finding the details and checking stock in other stores in case they had the odd roll still lurking at the back of a stock room, I explained that we were unable to match her current wallpaper in the room. She was outraged! She actually flounced and on leaving said 'you shops- you're all just out to make money!'

StillCoughingandLaughing · 17/08/2019 11:37

A parent complained that their child had seen me in a swimming costume at a leisure centre in the holidays.

Well, it is a bizarre outfit choice for swimming...

BertyFlanter · 17/08/2019 11:39

I was once charged with moving our offices from a town centre location to purpose built offices on an out of town business estate.
On day one I received a fuming phone call from someone who had seen some road kill on the country road on the way to work. She wanted me to ensure it wasn't there on her way home 🙄 I still to this day don't know 1) why she thought it was a legitimate complaint or 2) what she thought I could/would do about it!

unlimiteddilutingjuice · 17/08/2019 11:41

'you shops- you're all just out to make money!'

Grin

Chanteuse · 17/08/2019 11:43

When I worked at a restaurant a guy ordered a pizza which I brought over. When I went back to check he had a face like thunder and said "this ketchup is broken". I laughed at first but when I realised he was serious I poured some into a pot (he just couldn't get it out) and he demanded a refund because "how could I expect him to eat the pizza cold and with no ketchup"

At the same restaurant a group of middle aged woken wrote a trip advisor review calling me a bully because I wouldn't refund their 3/4 finished meals because they "didn't like them"

KitKat1985 · 17/08/2019 11:45

A customer in a café I worked in ordered the 4-cheese pasta and sent it back because it was too cheesy.

VeniVidiVoxi · 17/08/2019 11:49

Ohhh too many stories of people just not thinking before having a rant. One customer was incensed that we "no longer" stocked the product she bought from a competitor (a product we had never sold), thought we were holding our on her. Another called to say a product was faulty and wanted a refund as was her right, but again hadn't actually bought it from us and couldn't understand why we wouldn't refund. Many customers call and say they'll have what they had last time... 5 years since their last order. Quite sweetly lots of customers call and say "it's Sarah..." as if we only have a handful of people that somehow miraculously maintain our staff of 8. I don't mind those so much, it must mean we sound friendly.

StillCoughingandLaughing · 17/08/2019 11:49

I forgot the woman who rang my office thinking it was the beds department of the Co-Op. I said she had the wrong number and got ‘Well this is the number they gave me!’ I said she must have misdialled or written it down wrongly as we were a printing company. ‘So what is the number then?’ she says in exasperation. Do I look like Directory sodding Enquiries love?!

I’ve also just remembered someone who phoned a catalogue company I worked for demanding a refund for an item he’d bought at a trade fair. I said I would have to look into it as, as far as I knew, we didn’t sell through trade fairs. He said ‘Oh, I don’t know who was running the stand - but you sell [item] don’t you? You can sort my refund out’. He got very stroppy when I said no, I couldn’t refund him for something he’d bought from another company.

maddiemookins16mum · 17/08/2019 11:50

Ex Holiday Rep here.

Too hot.
Too many foreigners.
Couldn’t get ‘proper’ bacon (in Egypt)
Lemons had too many pips.
The room maids never did their laundry (they’d left it soaking in the bidet)
The Chef on the show cooking counter did not smile.
They drive on the wrong side of the road.
And my personal favourite.......they don’t sell Lilletts tampons (in Goa).

JapaneseBirdPainting · 17/08/2019 11:50

I used to work on a checkout, and once broke my arm. Cast and everything. Doing everything one-handed. Customer complained I was slow and lazy.

Fluffycloudland77 · 17/08/2019 11:51

Dh had a customer moan they’d be charged for the damage to a car where the dogs had eaten the entire back seat.

Apparently they had no idea that wasn’t reasonable wear & tear.

Then they complained it had ruined their experience of picking up a new car, presumably to be used as a giant doggy snack.

Batshit.

Loveislandaddict · 17/08/2019 11:51

@Soubriquet me too!

Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.